Skip to main content
click map TCC Home TCC Library Home

Composition I (ENGL 1113 - eCore): Start Here!

This guide will support students taking TCC's eCore Comp 1 course.

Library Orientation Part 1A: What you need to do is listed below.

What is it? On the left and bottom right below, you will find three short videos to watch.  They will introduce you to: 1) the TCC Library website, a portal into many resources and services available to students; 2) library databases and how they work; and 3) popular & helpful features found in all (or at least, most of the) databases.  Please also review the box on the top right; it provides a direct link to contact librarians, who are ready and able to help and support you!

Why is it important? The library is a valuable part of the student support system built into the college and university experience; the more familiar you are with its resources, the more helpful they'll be to you as you work through your courses. 

How long will it take? Watching the three videos will take about 13 minutes; reviewing the material in the box on the right side of the page will take about two minutes.

Click on the tabs above to move through the library orientation.

Video 1.1: Introducing Your LIbrary! (2:40)

Video 1.2: Introducing Library Databases (2:34)

Library databases are full of reliable, well-organized, well-documented information!  The video below from Yavapai College explains how library databases work and why they are a better place to look for articles than an Internet search engine like Google or Yahoo.

If the video doesn’t play, you may have to update your Flash Player.  If you can’t, or are accessing on a device that doesn’t have Flash Player, click this link to view:  https://youtu.be/Q2GMtIuaNzU

TCC Librarians are here for you!

Your Friendly Librarians's picture
Your Friendly Librarians
Contact:
http://library.tulsacc.edu/staffdirectory
Website

Video 1.3: A Little More About Databases... (7:10)

Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2020 Tulsa Community College