LibGuides: Library Information for Faculty: eResources

Films on Demand

We now have full access to Films on Demand - Master Academic Videos Collection!

Access nearly 30,000 titles!
Can be embedded directly into your Blackboard Course
Content is from the very best producers, including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, MacNeil/Lehrer Productions, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
Create and save playlists using segments or full films, create assignments within the interface and send to students, and many more features available when you create a free user account within the platform.

New York Times Online

The TCC Library now provides full access to The New York Times online with an NYT pass!

Instructors can also access the New York Times education site with more features for use in instruction, classes, and research by registering at - http://www.nytimes.com/edu (For first time access, this education site will be a separate registration.)

New York Times
This document provides more information on NYT access and using its content in your course!

Chronicle of Higher Education

Don't forget about the Chronicle! Stay informed by subscribing to their newsletters and enjoy full institutional access.

Chronicle of Higher Education Premium (website subscription) Stand-alone direct subscription for TCC, the "Chronicle" is published daily with news, advice, and jobs for people in academe, and features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns. Provides an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums..

In Context databases from Gale

A great place to start!

Gale's In Context databases provide great topic overviews and can be really helpful in establishing a basic understanding of a topic and its scope.

Find or refine a topic.
Build background information.
Identify keywords.

We have an In Context database to help with a variety of topics. These can be found on the A-Z list, but are linked below for convenience:

Biography - Gale in Context Find information about 525,000 individuals from reference and periodical sources.
College - Gale in Context Provides contextual information including reference content, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio, and links to vetted websites.
Global Issues - Gale in Context Offers international viewpoints on global issues, topics, and current events. Features continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together sources about social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Opposing Viewpoints - Gale in Context Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues drawing from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Science - Gale in Context Contains contextual information on today's most significant science topics in full-text magazines, academic journals, articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
U.S. History - Gale in Context An engaging online experience with contextual information on hundreds of significant people, events and topics in U.S. History, merging authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, journals, articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio, and links to vetted websites.
World History- Gale in Context Contextual information containing hundreds of significant people, events and topics in World History, merging authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, journals, articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio, and links to vetted websites.

Gale's Reference Databases
Helpful information for using Gale's Reference Databases in your course.

Research Databases - General Information

The Library's A-Z database list can be found on the library's website behind the Articles & Databases link under Resources.

The databases are listed alphabetically on the page, and there is a brief description under each so you know what types of sources can be found there.

You can use the filters near the top to view databases that:

are recommended for particular subjects, i.e., art, psychology, science, etc.
contain particular types of material, i.e., images, reference articles, streaming videos, etc.
are provided by particular vendors, i.e., EbscoHost, Gale, Proquest, etc.

You'll also find on this page:

4. a link to search by periodical title in order to determine whether the library has online access to specific newspapers, magazines & journals; and

5. a list of databases for which we currently have trials, and a link to provide feedback on those resources (we consider this when we look at adding new databases).

Library Information for Faculty: eResources

E-books at TCC Library