LibGuides: eCore Modern Western Civilization (HIST 1063): Home

Course Information

This course covers the unfolding of the pattern of modern western civilization from the Renaissance to current times. Course content includes the Age of Revolution, the beginnings of industrialism in the nineteenth century and the social, economic, and political factors of recent world history.

Students who successfully complete this course will be able to:

Identify key events, developments, and trends in the rise of western civilizations from the Renaissance to the present.
Define historical terms from modern civilization
Synthesize key information to explain the contributions of western civilizations and cultures.
Communicate the significance or impact of major events and figures in Modern western civilization.

This guide contains supplemental information about each historical era covered by the course, as well as helpful library resources.

Modern Western Civilization – Renaissance through the Present: eCore HIST 1063 Textbook

Books and Articles

Books: TCC Library has print books at each campus and E-books for online use.

Articles: To find articles, visit the A to Z list of databases on the library's webpage.

Use Discovery Search to find books, videos, e-books, etc. If the item is held by TCC. the record will provide location information. If the item is digital, there will be a link for online access. Discovery also searches a sampling of our more commonly used databases for articles relating to your search terms.

Key Terms

At the beginning of each chapter of the textbook there is a list of key terms.

Make sure that you can define and and explain the significance of each term. This will help you be more successful on the multiple-choice quiz and test questions.

Library FAQs

History Databases

These databases include history-related material that will be useful for your writing assignments. They are accessible through the A-Z list of databases on the library's website.

Biography - Gale in Context
This database contains information about thousands of notable people. Scroll to see people grouped into browsable topics, or use the browse people button to see the full list. To find a specific person, use the search box at the top.
Films on Demand Databases : Master Academic Video Collection
A curriculum-focused streaming video subscription has grown their unlimited access to almost 32,000 full length videos and over 293,000 segments ...
... from 26 core academic collections including Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Education, Health & Medicine, Math, Archive Films & Newsreels, Nursing, Science, and much more.
Issues & Controversies in History - Facts on File
This database is browsable by topic. Resources along the right side of the page are divided according to era, region, and subject. To find something more specific, use the advanced search option at the top of the page.

History Resources

Here are some non-database resources with historical information you may find useful for your work in this course:

Smarthistory: contains images and historical explanations of important works of art.

World History Commons: includes peer-reviewed content for world history teachers, scholars, and students.

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution: this site includes 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps, a timeline, and a glossary as well as 12 topical essays about the French Revolution.

The Medici Archive Project: The Medici Archive Project (MAP) was founded to foster the study of the Mediceo del Principato, the epistolary collection of the Medici Grand Dukes, dating from 1537 to 1743.