LibGuides: Statistics: Library Resources

Databases

Statista
An online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.

Use the advanced search options in these databases to find statistical information:

Environmental Studies - Gale in Context
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Research centers around energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
Global Issues - Gale in Context
Offers international viewpoints on global issues, topics, and current events. Features continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together sources about social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Science - Gale in Context
Contains contextual information on today's most significant science topics in full-text magazines, academic journals, articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Opposing Viewpoints - Gale in Context
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues drawing from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Nursing & Allied Health Database - ProQuest
Offers reliable, comprehensive scholarly coverage of the fields of nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, etc., including journals, video, dissertations, reference books, and more.
Issues & Controversies - Facts on File
Explore more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

Videos from Films on Demand Database

Against All Odds: Inside Statistics: This Annenberg series of 32 video modules introduces statistical topics in real-world context , visiting locations where people from all walks of life use statistics in their work. Starting with descriptive statistics, the course continues through probability and inference. Examples range from finding patterns in lightning strikes, to examining possible genetic resistance to deadly Lassa fever in West Africa, to linking DDT to the decline of peregrine falcons.

United Stats of America: In "United Stats of America," a six part video series, comedians and twin brothers Randy and Jason Sklar reveal the stories behind the most interesting statistics in American history.

Why Use Statistics?: This four part series was produced specifically to highlight the relevance of statistics and to teach students the basic statistical methods. The programs use sequences of "live action" video to illustrate relevant situations across a broad range of subject areas, and dynamic animation is used to explain the theoretical principles of statistical methods and to clarify the processes involved.

Behind the Statistics: Statistical data is rightly seen as a central feature of much psychological research, but students need to understand the important methodological processes underpinning the production of such data. This film looks at the various factors -- from sampling techniques, through ideas about correlation and causation to experimental design -- that can influence the reliability and validity of statistical data.