LibGuides: Statistics: United States Statistics

The Federal Statistical System

Relevant, timely, credible, and objective statistical information is part of the foundation of democracy and the fundamental responsibility of the U.S. Federal statistical system. Since the Nation's founding, the U.S. Federal statistical system has collected and transformed data into high quality statistical information, making it readily available. The U.S. Federal statistical system is a decentralized, interconnected network of 16 Statistical Agencies and Units.

Economic Research Service: Department of Agriculture
ERS research and analysis covers a broad range of economic and policy topics including:
Agricultural Economy, Food and Nutrition, Food Safety, Global Markets and Trade, Resources and Environment, and Rural Economy.
National Animal Health Monitoring System, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service: Department of Agriculture
The National Animal Health Monitoring System unit conducts national studies on the health and health management of U.S. domestic livestock, equine, aquaculture, and poultry populations.
National Agricultural Statistics Service: Department of Agriculture
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
Bureau of Economic Analysis: Department of Commerce
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is the source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy.
Bureau of the Census: Department of Commerce
The Census Bureau is the federal government’s largest statistical agency. It provides current facts and figures about America’s people and economy.
National Center for Education Statistics: Department of Education
Since 1867, NCES has been the federal statistical agency responsible for collecting, analyzing, and reporting data on the condition of U.S. education—from early childhood to adult education—to help improve student outcomes.
Energy Information Administration: Department of Energy
EIA provides a wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest.
Microeconomic Surveys Units: Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve System
The Microeconomic Surveys section conducts research in a variety of areas, including consumer finances, financial markets, general applied microeconomics, survey methodology, and other statistical methodology.
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: Department of Health and Human Services
SAMHSA's Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality is the lead Federal government agency for behavioral health data and research.
National Center for Health Statistics: Department of Health and Human Services
The National Center for Health Statistics is the nation's source for official health statistics.
Bureau of Justice Statistics: Department of Justice
The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Department of Labor
The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics: National Science Foundation
NCSES is responsible for statistical data on the following broad areas of interest:
Research and development, The science and engineering workforce, U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D, and the condition and progress of STEM education in the United States.
Office of Research, Evaluation and Statistics: Social Security Administration
ORES is responsible for: Conducting policy relevant research and evaluation; Providing statistical data on OASDI and SSI program benefits, payments, covered workers, and other indicators; Sponsoring special-purpose survey data collections and studies to improve data for research and statistics related to social security issues; Disseminating research and statistical material.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics: Department of Transportation
The Bureau of Transportation Statistics is the preeminent source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics, and provides context to decision makers and the public for understanding statistics on transportation.
Statistics of Income: Department of the Treasury
SOI collects and processes data so that they become informative and shares information about how the tax system works with other government agencies and the general public.

Crime and Law Enforcement

Crime Data Explorer
The FBI's Crime Data Explorer aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy in support of a safer nation.
Death Penalty Information Center
DPI is a national non-profit organization providing news, data, and facts about the death penalty.
Executions by State and Region Since 1976
List of all defendants executed in the United States after 1976. Includes data such as sex, race, race of victims, and method of execution.
Uniform Crime Reporting Program
The Uniform Crime Reporting Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement. It also provides information for students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public.

Economic and Labor

U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics: Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information for more than 300 occupational profiles covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.

Education

The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) provides important information about student academic achievement and learning experiences in various subjects. Also known as The Nation’s Report Card, NAEP has provided meaningful results to improve education policy and practice since 1969.

Geography and Population

Census Data
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 258 world entities.
Pew Research Center Tools and Datasets
Digital tools and resources to access Pew Research Center data. Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Pew conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Population Reference Bureau
PRB is a nonpartisan, not-for-profit research organization focused on improving people’s health and well-being through evidence-based policies and practices. PRB's staff analyzes population data and ensures the research and its applications are understood and used widely by decisionmakers, advocates, and media.
Population Reference Bureau: 2024 World Population Data Sheet
The 2024 World Population Data Sheet provides the latest population, health, and environment indicators for more than 200 countries and territories.

Health

Health Data
Healthdata.gov is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
AHRQ Data Tools
Provides access to health statistics and information on Hospital Inpatient and Outpatient Use, Cost, and Quality, Patient and Workforce Safety, Medical Coverage and Expenditures, and Patient Experience.