LibGuides: Health and Wellness: Home

Database Spotlight

Health and Wellness - Gale
Provides consumer & reference information on Medicine, Alternative Health, Nutrition and Diet, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc., using medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and videos.
Health Source: Consumer Edition - Ebscohost
Collection of consumer health information providing full text articles on many health topics.
Health and Medicine Videos - Films on Demand
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes over 4,500 evideos and over 31,000 clips covering a wide range of topics about health and medicine.

Welcome

Welcome to Health and Wellness, our center for resources on nutrition, fitness, meditation, sleep, and stress management. College can be a busy and stressful time. Without caring for your health, you may find yourself feeling run-down, tired, or burnt out. Self-care is important during your time as a student and throughout your lifetime. We hope you’ll find resources in this guide to connect you with health, wellness, and happiness.

This guide is not intended to be used as medical advice or instead of medical care. Always consult your physician if you are experiencing health problems or before beginning a nutrition or exercise program.

Health Websites

National Institute of Health
Provides links to information on clinical trials, men's and women's health, seniors' health, child and teen health, as well as, links to information on body systems, diseases, procedures, nutrition, and lifestyle. It also provides links to health newsletters and health databases, and additional sources of information.
Health Finder
Includes resources on a wide range of health topics selected from over 1,600 government and non-profit organizations to bring the user the best, most reliable health information on the Internet. Healthfinder.gov is an information and referral service only, and does not diagnose medical conditions, offer medical advice, or endorse specific products or services.
WebMD
The popular, comprehensive website offers information organized as Health A-Z, drugs & supplements, healthy living, eating & diet, parenting & pregnancy, teen health, pet health. Much of the information is aimed at self-help--you can watch videos that help you diagnose health problems or improve your lifestyle.

Evaluating Health Websites

MedlinePlus Evaluating Health Information
An outline of tips for evaluating the quality of health information on Web sites. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.
How to Find Reliable Health Information
A Web site from the Human Genome Research Institute that defines and explains the different kinds of scientific literature--review articles, basic science or laboratory research, case reports, and articles discussing treatments.
How To Evaluate Health Information on the Internet
Questions and answers aimed at helping you make informed decisions about the quality of health information you find on the Web.

Health and Wellness: Home

Database Spotlight

Welcome

Health Websites

Evaluating Health Websites

Books on Health