World Languages: French

Over fifty thousand entries provide French and English equivalents, and include technical, as well as, conversational words and phrases.

Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this French-English dictionary.

Encountering French and the French.

If you had been living in France in the 1990s, the language you would have heard on the radio and television or seen in the newspapers would be far removed from the French language of ten or twenty years ago. The country and its language have changed tremendously in a relatively short period of time, and, as a result, English speakers with a grounding in French can still find themselves struggling to understand terms commonly encountered in contemporary French society. Luckily, Eleanor and Michel Levieux now bring us up to date with their Insiders' French, an utterly entertaining and informative guide to the language of the "new France."

Includes bibliographical references (pages 232-244) and indexes.

Thumb-indexed edition A hundred years of experience in dictionary publishing lies behind this edition of the famous Cassell's French Dictionary. After more than thirty impressions of the previous edition this entirely new dictionary has been compiled by a team of eminent linguists. Reviewing the new dictionary The Times Educational Supplement said: "One handles this dictionary with the same pleasure that a craftsman feels when he finds that a tool, dulled and blunted by long use and passage of time, has come back sharpened and polished, refurbished and fit once more for long years of useful service.

This well-established and popular book provides students with all the linguistic background they need for studying any period of French literature. For the second edition the text has been revised and updated throughout, and the two final chapters on contemporary French, and its position as a world language, have been completely rewritten. Starting with a brief description of the Vulgar Latin spoken in Gaul, and the earliest recorded forms of French, Peter Rickard traces the development of the language through the later Middle Ages and Renaissance to show how it became standardized in a near modern form in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.