Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bird on Branch, by Ren Yu
Dictionaries and Reference Material
Oxford Starter Chinese Dictionary (opens in new window)
This dictionary is created specifically for beginners: no confusing abbreviations; warning symbols show potential problem areas. Full romanization of the Chinese text with Chinese scriptfollowing in simplified characters. Includes a guide to how to write Chinese characters. Full guidance on the pronunciation of Mandarin Chinese is given. Word patterns and constructions from language areas such as dates, and telling time are grouped together to show similarities and differences.
Beginners' Dictionary of Chinese-Japanese Characters and Compounds by
Compiled by a distinguished scholar, this dictionary contains the 5,000 most important Japanese characters, arranged by stroke. For each character, on and kun readings are given in romaji, with full English equivalents, plus important related compounds and pronunciation guides that add up to approximately 25,000 Japanese words. Supplemented with many practical tables.
Analysis of Chinese Characters by
Chinese characters were not formed arbitrarily, despite (to a Western eye) their overall similarity yet bewildering multiplicity in detail. Over several thousands of years, early religious writers, court officials, scholars, poets, and eventually lexicographers created a body of material that shows a remarkable internal system.
Reading Chinese Script by
This volume uses unique properties of Chinese script to focus on morphological analyses during the character and word recognition process, though some of the reported work also pertains to the use of phonological information. In addition, this volume contains work on syntactic and pragmatic processes during sentence reading and three chapters that examine on-line processes. A comprehensive appraisal of cognitive processes during the reading of Chinese script that includes studies conducted by leading researchers from within and outside the mainland, this volume will be of interest to all those studying reading and visual symbol processing.
Reading and Writing - Chinese by
This is a revised second edition of Tuttle's Reading and Writing Chinese. Reading and Writing Chinese has long been the best–selling reference text for foreign students and teachers of Chinese characters. This new edition focuses on the internationally recognized test of Chinese language proficiency, the Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK). All 800 characters prescribed for Level A are covered here, and the 1400+ Levels B and C characters are covered concisely. All of the prescribed vocabulary for Levels A-C of the Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi is included among the example compounds. Knowledge of the 2,200+ characters and 5,253+ vocabulary items covered will equip students to take the test at either the Basic or the Elementary-Intermediate standard. Success in the top band of the Basic standard is sufficient to enter college in China.
Chinese Calligraphy Made Easy by
Are you interested in taking the first steps to becoming a Chinese calligraphy master? This book employs unique, systematic teaching methods to help you build up from basic to advanced brushstrokes--enabling you to create new words with each brushstroke you learn.
Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2021 Tulsa Community College