LibGuides: Interpersonal Communication (COMM 2103): Finding Articles

Communication Publications Available @ TCC Library

Research Tips

Use keywords in library databases instead of sentences and questions.
To look for an exact phrase, type your phrase within quotation marks (" "). The results will contain the exact words in the quotation marks.
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a root word, known as truncation, to retrieve results containing any form of the root word.
- Example: teen* will find teens, teenage, teenager, teenagers
Use filters to refine your results by subject terms/topics, date, type of publication, language, peer-reviewed, etc.
Some databases use Boolean Operators. Narrow or expand your search by combining keywords using AND / OR / NOT operators, as shown below.

Recommended Databases

Below, you'll find a list of databases recommended for the study of communication. However, communication is part of all subjects, and depending on your topic, you may find a more relevant information in a different subject database. Find a complete list of all of TCC Library databases at https://guides.library.tulsacc.edu/az.php.

Communications & Mass Media - Gale OneFile
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on the communications field. Key subjects covered include advertising & public relations, literature & writing, linguistics, and more.
Business Source Premier - Ebscohost
Search 2300 journals with focus on all disciplines of business including computer technology, marketing, management, finance, and economics.
Business - Gale OneFile
Provides coverage from business and trade publications for worldwide business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice.
Psychology - Gale OneFile
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
Academic Search Premier - Ebscohost
Search for full-text articles on a wide range of topics in 4700 magazines and journals.

Interesting Articles!

"Mindfulness and Interpersonal Communication" by Burgoon, Judee K., et al. Abstract: ""Many social problems can be traced to interpersonal communication difficulties, just as many proposed interventions to solve social ills also depend on effective interpersonal communication. This article examines three potential relationships between states of mind and social interaction followed by illustrations from research related to five exemplar social issues--developing effective programs for solving workplace communication problems, training the public to detect scams and hoaxes, reducing stereotyping and cross-cultural misunderstanding, managing interpersonal conflict, and constructing effective public health campaigns. We conclude by considering the likely inhibiting and facilitating effects of mindfulness-mindlessness on socially relevant transactions."
"Word of Mouth and Interpersonal Communication: A Review and Directions for Future Research" by Berger Jonah Abstract: "People often share opinions and information with their social ties, and word of mouth has an important impact on consumer behavior. But what drives interpersonal communication and why do people talk about certain things rather than others? This article argues that word of mouth is goal driven and serves five key functions (i.e., impression management, emotion regulation, information acquisition, social bonding, and persuasion). Importantly, I suggest these motivations are predominantly self- (rather than other) serving and drive what people talk about even without their awareness. Further, these drivers make predictions about the types of news and information people are most likely to discuss. This article reviews the five proposed functions and well as how contextual factors (i.e., audience and communication channel) may moderate which functions play a larger role. Taken together, the paper provides insight into the psychological factors that shape word of mouth and outlines additional questions that deserve further study."
"Polymedia: Towards a new theory of digital media in interpersonal communication" by Madianou, Mirca, et al. Abstract: "This article develops a new theory of polymedia in order to understand the consequences of digital media in the context of interpersonal communication. Drawing on illustrative examples from a comparative ethnography of Filipino and Caribbean transnational families, the article develops the contours of a theory of polymedia. We demonstrate how users avail themselves of new media as a communicative environment of affordances rather than as a catalogue of ever proliferating but discrete technologies. As a consequence, with polymedia the primary concern shifts from the constraints imposed by each individual medium to an emphasis upon the social, emotional and moral consequences of choosing between those different media. As the choice of medium acquires communicative intent, navigating the environment of polymedia becomes inextricably linked to the ways in which interpersonal relationships are experienced and managed. Polymedia is ultimately about a new relationship between the social and the technological, rather than merely a shift in the technology itself."
"OnlineSocial Influence and the Convergence of Mass and Interpersonal Communication" by Flanagin, A.J. Abstract: "Mass and interpersonal communication are rapidly converging as people integrate an assortment of Internet-based tools into their communication repertoires. This convergence prompts dramatic changes in the conditions that once were presumed to distinguish mass from interpersonal communication, most notably differences in communication directionality and scale, audience size and identification, and a host of cues that signal source credibility. This article proposes a number of features of technological convergence in this context—including shifts in message control, audience scale, and source, receiver, and temporal ambiguity—and describes illustrative implications for social influence processes. These features highlight areas that traditional mass and interpersonal communication perspectives cannot fully describe alone, and suggest new methods and directions for the examination of online social influence."
"Ethnography Goes Online: Towards a User-centred Methodology to Research Interpersonal Communication on the Internet" by Beneito-Montagut, Roser Abstract: "Ethnographic research is increasingly concerned with how the internet operates within our everyday life. This article attempts to offer a methodological contribution of online communication and an exploration of initial empirical data generated with this methodology. The article calls for a specification of how ethnography can be applied appropriately to the study of relationships online. It departs from the real versus virtual dichotomy, offering a user-centred methodology to study interpersonal communications on the internet. It suggests the use of three main strategies to pay tribute to the characteristics of uses online: multi-situated, online and offline, and flexible and multimedia data collection methods. This approach facilitates a holistic analysis of the way in which social information and communication technologies operate within society in everyday life. It deals with the problem of defining the setting of research online and proposes an expanded ethnography. The article specifies details of this methodology for research into interpersonal communications and emotions online. It does so by drawing on empirical data generated in a study on everyday life and emotions on the internet. Epistemic questions related to this methodological approach will also be discussed. Overall, the exemplification suggests that the methodological approach proposed here is able to capture the uses and understandings of the internet."
"A Practitioner's Guide to Interpersonal Communication Theory: An Overview and Exploration of Selected Theories" by Bylund, Carma L., et al. Abstract: "This article serves as an introductory primer to theories of interpersonal communication that have been or could be applied to healthcare communication research. Understanding key constructs and general formulations of these theories may provide practitioners with additional theoretical frameworks to use when interacting with patients."
"Interpersonal Communication in the Workplace: A Largely Unexplored Region" by DeKay, Sam H. Abstract: "An introduction is presented in which the editor discusses two reports within the section concerning interpersonal communication in the workplace and the development of a curriculum to provide interpersonal communication competency training to employees of a major corporation."
"Bridging the Communication Gap between Generation Y and the Baby Boomer Generation" by Venter, Elza Abstract: "Interpersonal communication has changed since the inception of the internet. Face-to-face communication moved to computer-mediated communication (CMC). CMC users are mostly younger people such as Generation Y. They are comfortable with using digital interactive technologies for communication. The Baby Boomer generation, on the other hand, values face-to-face communication. The different ways of communication causes conflict between these two generations. The research question is: ‘How can the generational communication gap between the Baby Boomer generation and Generation Y be closed in order to allow them to have meaningful interpersonal communication?’ The research was done through a literature review within the cues-filtered-out approach, using the social presence theory. The conclusion is that the meaning of messages is often compromised in CMC because of the lack of nonverbal cues and social presence, however rather than not communicating, people should communicate via digital media to meet some of their relational needs.Interpersonal communication has changed since the inception of the internet. Face-to-face communication moved to computer-mediated communication (CMC). CMC users are mostly younger people such as Generation Y. They are comfortable with using digital interactive technologies for communication. The Baby Boomer generation, on the other hand, values face-to-face communication. The different ways of communication causes conflict between these two generations. The research question is: ‘How can the generational communication gap between the Baby Boomer generation and Generation Y be closed in order to allow them to have meaningful interpersonal communication?’ The research was done through a literature review within the cues-filtered-out approach, using the social presence theory. The conclusion is that the meaning of messages is often compromised in CMC because of the lack of nonverbal cues and social presence, however rather than not communicating, people should communicate via digital media to meet some of their relational needs."
"Self-Disclosure and Managing Privacy: Implications for Interpersonal and Online Communication for Consumers and Marketers" by Robinson, Stephen Cory Abstract: "In our fast-changing technological world, the line between the offline and online world has become blurred and individuals are faced with constant opportunities to divulge personal details. The process of disclosing sensitive information to others is necessary for establishing, maintaining, and building relationships, both with people and businesses; however, it also creates opportunities for misuse of the disclosed information. Consumers who are willing to disclose personal information online may often be unaware of the full implications of such disclosure. By thoroughly exploring the origins and processes of self-disclosure, and outlining its development in interpersonal and online communication, individuals will become more aware of their (sometimes competing) implicit and explicit disclosure behaviors necessary for enacting strong privacy management. Utilizing communication privacy management (CPM) theory, this article proposes a framework for ongoing consideration of how self-disclosure and privacy function online. By framing privacy in terms of the literature of communicative self-disclosure, CPM instructs the building of privacy boundaries that are functional for consumers and marketers alike, allowing people to protect themselves online while also ensuring their continued enjoyment of Internet provided benefits."
"An Inventory for Assessing Interpersonal Communication Competence of College Students" by Huang, Yun-Chen, et al. Abstract: "We have developed and validated a new Interpersonal Communication Competence Inventory (ICCI) for college students. Study 1 describes the development of the ICCI and results of an exploratory factor analysis of data from 1336 Chinese students, which identified a four-factor model with reasonable internal consistency. Study 2 describes results of a confirmatory factor analysis of data from 593 Chinese students, which cross-validated the four-factor model as well as supporting the validity of the overall scale. Taken together, these results suggest that the ICCI is a psychometrically valid measure of interpersonal communication competence of college students."
"'Sleep, Emotional Intelligence, and Interpersonal Effectiveness: Natural Bedfellows" by Nowack, Kenneth Abstract: "According to the National Sleep Foundation’s Sleep in America Poll, U.S. adults sleep between 6.7 to 7.3 hr every night, which has decreased by approximately 2 hr per night since the 19th century (National Sleep Foundation, 2016). Inconsistent or insufficient sleep can be costly for business, impacting leadership decision making/judgment, interpersonal relations, absenteeism, presenteeism, safety, productivity, and health (Gaultney & Collins-McNeil, 2009; Mills et al., 2007; Rosekind et al., 2010). Daytime sleepiness can be dangerous, and inadequate sleep is a known health hazard resulting in fatigue that can impair both performance and social functioning. In light of existing research on the effects of insufficient sleep on work performance, this study investigated the relationship between self-reported sleep quality and quantity (Stress Profile) of leaders with a concurrent evaluation of relationship skills by their manager and others (direct reports and peers) on a measure of emotional and social competence. Regression analyses indicated that leaders who reported poor quality and quantity of sleep were rated significantly lower on interpersonal effectiveness after controlling for gender and perceived work/life stress by their direct reports and peers but not by their manager.
"Technology-Based Communication and the Development of Interpersonal Competencies Within Adolescent Romantic Relationships: A Preliminary Investigation" by Nesi, Jacqueline, et al. Abstract: "This study investigated longitudinal associations between adolescents' technology-based communication and the development of interpersonal competencies within romantic relationships. A school-based sample of 487 adolescents (58% girls; Mage = 14.1) participated at two time points, one year apart. Participants reported (1) proportions of daily communication with romantic partners via traditional modes (in person, on the phone) versus technological modes (text messaging, social networking sites) and (2) competence in the romantic relationship skill domains of negative assertion and conflict management. Results of cross-lagged panel models indicated that adolescents who engaged in greater proportions of technology-based communication with romantic partners reported lower levels of interpersonal competencies one year later, but not vice versa; associations were particularly strong for boys."