LibGuides: STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math: Technology

What is technology?

Technology is the branch of knowledge dealing with the mechanical arts and applied sciences. The product of such application; technological knowledge or know-how; a technological process, method, or technique. Also: machinery, equipment, etc., developed from the practical application of scientific and technical knowledge.

From “technology, n.”. Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford University Press, July 2023,

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) - Oxford
Includes the meaning, history, thesaurus, and pronunciation of 600,000 words

Technology News

BBC
Technology News from BBC
NYT
Technology news from the New York Times.
Reuters
Global technology news from Reuters.

Technology Databases

Computer Science - Gale OneFile
Provides access to business & technical publications in the computer, telecomm, and electronics industries. Includes computer-related product introductions, and news & reviews covering hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and applied technology.

Technology Websites

Mashable
Mashable reports on technology, science and entertainment.
Popular Science
Popular Science has been demystifying the worlds of science and technology since 1872.
SlashGear
SlashGear covers consumer electronics, the automotive industry, entertainment, medicine, science, and gaming.
TechCrunch
TechCrunch is an American global online newspaper that focuses on high tech and startup companies.
UberGizmo
One of the most popular technology blogs, Ubergizmo covers a wide range of gadgets, computing devices, technology breakthroughs and home entertainment products.

Technology Videos

CNET
Tech News from CNET on YouTube.
Films on Demand: Technology
Google TechTalks
Google Tech Talks is a grass-roots program at Google for sharing information of interest to the technical community.
The Verge
The Verge examines how technology will change life in the future.

STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math: Technology

Technology Books (Select book cover for more information and availability.)

What is technology?

Technology News

Technology Databases

Technology Websites

Technology Videos

Technology Professional Organizations

Technology News from WIRED