Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United States HIstory Decade by Decade
History & Pol. Science Website Table of Contents for this Page
Journalism & News Websites
History of American Journalism 20th Century
See information on key journalists and trends in journalism plus the political and social climate through the 20th century.
Created by Professor Emeritus Ruck Musser at Univ. of Kansas, School of Journalism and Mass Comm.
Slavic and East European Collection: Online News Sources
From Yale University Library. See links to resources by country. Includes Albania - Croatia - Finland - Poland -Russia - Uzbekistan among others.
American Journalism Historians Association
Publisher of journal American Journalism to foster research and teaching of journalism history.
-It is run by editors and reporters from the Tampa Bay Times, an independent newspaper in Florida.
-It also checks claims by elected officials, candidates, leaders of political parties and political activists.
-They also review statements and claims by all groups (adovcacy,political parties, political action committees) participating in the discussion of issues.
-They examine officials at all levels of government, from county commissioners to U.S. senators, from city council members to the president.
Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute (Univ. of Missouri Journalism School)
"The Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute engages media professionals, scholars and other citizens in programs aimed at strengthening journalism in the service of democracy."
News & Public Affairs at UCLA's Film and Television Archives
Highlights include CNN Special Reports, C-SPAN's Washington Journal, Nightline, Today, America's Black Forum, Larry King Live, Tony Brown's Journal, local Los Angeles news from stations such as KNBC, KCBS, KABC, and KTLA, network nightly news programs, and local and national Spanish language news. The collection also holds extended coverage of important news events, such as the 2000 presidential election/Florida recount.
Accuracy in Media
A watchdog group whose stated mission is "to promote accuracy, fairness and balance in news reporting. AIM exposes politically motivated media bias; teaches consumers to think critically about their news sources; and holds the mainstream press accountable for its misreporting." It is recognized for its strong right-wing perspective on issues.
Alternative Press Center
Founded in 1969, It aims to provide access to and increase public awareness of the alternative press. It also produces the Alternative Press Index, a list of 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Oklahoma Historical Society
An non-profit organization that maintains over 20 museums and historic sites throughout Oklahoma
Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History & Culture
Maintained by Oklahoma Historical Society. Includes information on OK from 1541 to present and biographical information.Many topics listed include petroleum, education, settlement patterns, and farming
History: United States
American History - Voice of the Shuttle
VOS is maintained by Alan Liu of University of California, Santa Barbara. Extensive list of websites on Pre Colonial to 2Oth Century. Links to sources of primary documents included.
The television cable channel uses speeches, exhibits, and experts' articles on world history.Features include history of the military, U.S. presidents, states, technology, and wars.
History Matters: the U.S. Survey Course on the Web
designed for high school and college teachers and students, a gateway to web resources with magazines, videos, photos, and primary sources on U.S. history.
History Net: where history lives on the web
from the publisher of 13 history magazines. Weekly features, archives and picture gallery provides a visual and detailed look at American history, Civil War, Personality Profiles, and World War II
World History Matters
Developed by the Center for History and New Media.
See World History Sources for scholarly reviews of online primary sources, Unpacking Evidence, Analyzing Documents, Teaching Sources, etc.
World History from OpenLearn University
Explore world history with short videos and open courses.
History: Minorities in the United States
National Museum of the American Indian
Explore cultures, arts, and history of indigenous peoples through varied and interactive resources.
Native American Studies Online Source Guide
Extensive links to resources curated by the Ethnic Studies Library, UC Berkeley
National Archives Black History
African-American history resources
Minorities Studies (Voice of the Shuttle)
See general resources and specific resources on African American, Arab American, Asian Pacific American, Hispanic American, Disability Studies, Jewish, Multiracial, and Native American groups.
History: Specific Events or Time Period in the U.S.
Religion and the Founding of the American Republic (Library of Congress)
An online exhibit that "demonstrates that many of the colonies that in 1776 became the United States of America were settled by men and women of deep religious convictions."Digitized images and text from "200 objects of books, manuscripts, letters, paintings."
Civil War, 1861-1865
American Civil War resources maintained by George H. Hoemann, University of Tennessee. A comprehensive directory of links about the Civil War period.
American Women's History: a research guide
"provides citations to print and Internet reference sources...". Maintained by Ken Middleton, Middle Tennessee State University
Red Scare, 1918-1921
An image database about events and crisises immediately following World War I that produced anti-red hysteria.Created by Leo Robert Klein of W. and A. Newman Library, CUNY
Comprehensive web site on the events and issues of Watergate during President Nixon's administration. Work of an Australian school teacher, Malcolm Farnsworth
Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2021 Tulsa Community College