LibGuides: Religion in America (RELG 2233): Intro

Featured Resources. Some Available Only via Interlibrary Loan. Select Title to View Access Options

What The Constitution Means To Me

(free to stream with ads and Amazon login)

OUR AMERICAN ISRAEL : the story of an entangled alliance.

Cowboy apocalypse : religion and the myth of the vigilante messiah

Conspirituality : how new age conspiracy theories became a health threat

Free documentary: The Occupation of the American Mind

God's ex-girlfriend : a memoir about loving and leaving the evangelical Jesus

The undertow : scenes from a slow civil war

Muslim prisoner litigation : an unsung American tradition

In plain view : the daily lives of Amish women

The flag and the cross : white Christian nationalism and the threat to American democracy

Fight sports and the church : boxing and martial arts ministries in America

Beyond belief : how Pentecostal Christianity is taking over the world

Jesus and John Wayne : how white evangelicals corrupted a faith and fractured a nation

American afterlives : reinventing death in the twenty-first century

Latter-day screens : gender, sexuality, and mediated Mormonism

God's country : Christian Zionism in America

Rescuing the Gospel from the cowboys : a Native American expression of the Jesus way

The cross and the lynching tree

Frederick Douglass : prophet of freedom

Religious Studies

This guide will help you in researching the world's major religions.

Rescuing Jesus : how people of color, women, & queer Christians are reclaiming evangelicalism

Threading my prayer rug : one woman's journey from Pakistani Muslim to American Muslim

Midnight rising : John Brown and the raid that sparked the Civil War

Frederick Douglass : America's prophet

Native American Studies

This guide will help you do research related to Native American Studies.

Religion and Philosophy Collection - Ebscohost

Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy from more more than 300 full-text journals.

Humanities International Complete - Ebscohost

Provides full text from hundreds of journals, books and other publications worldwide. This includes all the data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index plus almost half a million full-text articles.

TCC Library YouTube video tutorials

The making of working-class religion

Liaison Librarian - Contact Me!

Amanda Ross

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Northeast Campus, Access Services Office

918-595-7568

Subjects: Child Development & Human Services, Humanities, Native American Studies, OER - Open Educational Resources , Philosophy, Religion & Philosophy, Religious Studies

Library Access

Other Relevant Library Research Guides

FAQ

Websites & Online Resources

Reading Links Used in Courses

Other Resources

AAR - American Academy of Religion
"The AAR is the largest scholarly society dedicated to the academic study of religion, with more than 8,000 members around the world. The AAR's mission is to foster excellence in the academic study of religion and enhance the public understanding of religion."
Wabash Center - The Syllabus Collection
"This collaboration between the Wabash Center, the American Academy of Religion (AAR), and the Society of Biblical literature (SBL) makes available nearly 1000 syllabi submitted by professors in a wide variety of subfields in religious and theological studies."
ATLA - Websites on Religion
"The Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide is a growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion." American Theological Library Association
NPR - Religion
National Public Radio news
The Database of Religious History
"The DRH began as one of the flagship initiatives of the Cultural Evolution of Religion Research Consortium (CERC), based at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. It now continues as an independent academic initiative, based at UBC but involving partners and collaborators from all over the world."
Westar Institute
"Westar provides resources on the latest religious studies research to both members of the general public and academic scholars. Westar is not affiliated with any religious institution and does not advocate a particular theological point of view. At Westar, all serious questions about religion are welcome."
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
"The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion." Find stats such as number of churches, ministers, etc.
PEW Research Center - Religion & Public Life
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
PEW - Religious Landscape Study
"The RLS surveys more than 35,000 Americans from all 50 states about their religious affiliations, beliefs and practices, and social and political views."
Interfaith Alliance
"Interfaith Alliance celebrates religious freedom by championing individual rights, promoting policies that protect both religion and democracy, and uniting diverse voices to challenge extremism."
American Religious Sound
'The American Religious Sounds Project offers resources for studying and interpreting the diversity of American religious life by attending to its varied sonic cultures. Our website is intended for multiple audiences, including scholars, educators, students, and the general public. We hope it will inspire you to think in new ways about religion and its place in American life. '

Viewpoints on Social Media - Scroll for More

View on Threads

The fundamental problem is that Megan only understands bigotry from the bigot's point of view. Her experience with the WBC has given her a heightened capacity to sympathize with bigots, and a diminished capacity to reckon with the harm done to bigotry's victims.
— Dark Natalie (@ContraPoints) February 16, 2023

The Proportion Of White Christians In The U.S. Has Stopped Shrinking, New Study Finds https://t.co/khbHikm39O pic.twitter.com/Av3EFphrsD
— 88.5 WFDD (@885wfdd) July 8, 2021

This Black History Month, CAIR Oklahoma Recognizes The Contributions and Lives of Some of the Most Famous Black American Muslims https://t.co/miAMkq9AB7 pic.twitter.com/pLr6Rqrhmc
— CAIR Oklahoma (@cair_oklahoma) February 5, 2022

From the TCC Course Catalog

RELG 2233 - Religion in America (H)

A survey of the variety of religion in the United States with an emphasis upon historical context and the interaction between religion and culture through the examination of a wide variety of religious traditions.

From here.

Studying Religion in Tulsa

Phillips Seminary Library in Tulsa, OK
Grants special borrower privileges to guest users. "Our library collections comprise holdings of approximately 100,000 items, making it the largest graduate theological library in the region extending from Dallas to Kansas City & St. Louis to Denver. It serves as an important resource for theological students, religious professionals & researchers in the area."
Tours of Tulsa
"Astonishing church buildings, built with grandeur and beauty in styles of both the past and present are an important part of Tulsa’s past and Tulsa today. On this tour we’ll hear about the founding of the downtown churches built between 1914 and 1929 when oil and prayer funded these powerful monuments to religious beliefs that are still vibrant and active today. We’ll visit the interior of a number of the churches to see their extraordinary beauty close-up and hear about their history. The churches of Tulsa tell the story of its people and their faith, a story that resonates in the past and reverberates for the present and the future."

Podcasts