LibGuides: ESL Research Guide: Reference Shelf

General Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus
Trustworthy dictionary with word definitions that includes medical terminology, Word of the Day, and Browse for words by topic and more features.

The World Factbook includes facts on every country and geographic entity in the world.

Collins COBUILD Advanced Dictionary of American English - Collins
Call Number: PE 1625.C66 2007 Reference Northeast

ISBN: 1424003636

This is an excellent dictionary to have as personal copy.
Take a look at it in the LRC's Reference section.
Dictionary of Confusable Words by Urdang, Laurence
Call Number: PE 1460.U74 1988 Reference Northeast

ISBN: 081601650X
The Facts On File dictionary of foreign words and phrases by Manser, Martin H
Call Number: PE1670 .M26 2002 Reference Northeast

ISBN: 0816044589

This dictionary is a guide to terms that are often used in the American language but those terms are derived from foreign languages.
NTC's American idioms dictionary : the most practical reference for the everyday expressions of contemporary American English / by Spears, Richard A
Call Number: PE2839 .S64 2000 Reference Northeast

ISBN: 0844202738

This is a reference book that can be used in the library only. Idioms are not easily understood by someone learning the English language. One dictionary defines idioms as "An expression whose meanings cannot be inferred from the meanings of the words that make it up."
Idioms such as "fill someone's shoes", "call on the carpet", "get the ax" etc. are explained in the book.
Cambridge Grammar of the English Language by Huddleston and Pullum
Call Number: Ref PE 1106 .H74 2002 Northeast

ISBN: 9780521431460

Publication Date: 2002