LibGuides: History: Find Articles

Searching Tutorials

Use keywords in library databases instead of sentences and questions.
- When searching the library catalog or one of the library databases, search using your topic keyword(s) For example: (Washington AND President).
To look for an exact phrase, type your phrase within quotation marks (" "). The results will contain the exact words in the quotation marks.
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a root word, known as truncation, to retrieve results containing any form of the root word.
- Example: histor* will find history, historical, historian, etc.
Use filters to refine your results by subject terms/topics, date, type of publication, language, peer-reviewed, etc.
Some databases use Boolean Operators. Narrow or expand your search by combining keywords using AND / OR / NOT operators, as shown below.

Three venn diagrams illustrating the boolean operators and, not, and or.

Biography - Gale in Context
Find information about 525,000 individuals from reference and periodical sources.
Issues & Controversies in History - Facts on File
Updated and changed, this offers full reports on issues and controversies in overall history with subject index, editorial cartoons, primary documents, and pro/con issues. Formerly was Issues & Controversies in American History.
JSTOR
ARTSTOR is now part of JSTOR and its content is under the tab labeled "IMAGES". JSTOR encompasses all of the Arts & Sciences Collections. Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Early Journal Collection. This provides over 2,800 academic full-text scholarly journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the arts, architecture, humanities, sciences, social sciences, millions of primary sources, and over 2 million images from museums, photographers, photo archives, & scholars.
U.S. History - Gale OneFile
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines offering a balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly works.
World History - Gale OneFile
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines offering balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work.

Journal Title Search
Use this search feature to find the databases that have issues of that title.
The Journal of American History
Features a variety of pieces that deal with every aspect of American history, including state-of-the-field essays, broadly inclusive book reviews, and reviews of films, museum exhibitions, and Web sites.
Journal of World History
An academic journal featuring historical analysis from a global point of view. Themes include large-scale population movements, economic fluctuations, the spread of infectious diseases, and the spread of religious faiths, ideas, and ideals.

Ulrichsweb - Proquest
Publication information about 300,000 periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more)