CultureGrams Online - ProQuest
Provides concise, reliable, and current cultural information on countries across the globe. Reports include background, customs, and lifestyles. Additional features: images, slideshows, streaming videos, data tables &graphs, interviews with citizens, recipes, and more.
TOPICsearch - EBSCO
Full text articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers. Also incorporates Ebsco's collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Statista
An online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
Digital Public Library of America
All materials—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The United States’ oldest federal cultural institution has an online collection of digitized books, film, images, and sound recordings.
Academic OneFile - Gale
Provides over 80 million peer-reviewed, full-text articles, covering a wide range of topics. The Topic Finder tool allows students to mine their search results and develop their research focus.
JSTOR
ARTSTOR is now part of JSTOR and its content is under the tab labeled "IMAGES". JSTOR encompasses all of the Arts & Sciences Collections. Health & General Sciences Collection, and the Early Journal Collection. This provides over 2,800 academic full-text scholarly journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the arts, architecture, humanities, sciences, social sciences, millions of primary sources, and over 2 million images from museums, photographers, photo archives, & scholars.
Search Tips
Use keywords in library databases instead of sentences and questions.
To look for an exact phrase, type your phrase within quotation marks (" "). The results will contain the exact words in the quotation marks.
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a root word, known as truncation, to retrieve results containing any form of the root word.
Example: teen* will find teens, teenage, teenager, teenagers
Use filters to refine your results by subject terms/topics, date, type of publication, language, peer-reviewed, etc.
Some databases use Boolean Operators. To narrow or expand your search combine keywords effectively using AND, OR, NOT operators, as shown below.
