Skip to Main Content
click map TCC Home TCC Library Home

Child Development: Home

A guide for resources in the Child Development Program.

TCC Library Resources for Child Development and Education

You can search for books, ebooks, DVDs, and streaming videos using the Discovery Search box above. Here are a few keywords that may help you find material: 

  • teacher parent relationship
  • child development
  • preschool children
  • toddlers or infants and literacy

Materials in the library for this subject are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification system. 

Browsing the shelves in the library can lead to finding books you may not otherwise see in the catalog. West Campus library has a unique subcollection of ALL Child Development books.  See image below.  

Call numbers in the Child Development collection can include:

  • BF 720s Child Development-Psychology
  • GV 400s Playgrounds, physical education
  • HQ 767 - Child development-Sociology
  • HQ 770 - Child discipline
  • LB - Theory and practice of education
  • LB 1100s - Activity books, curriculum
  • LC - Special aspects of teaching and education
  • QA 135 - Math for children
  • RJ - Pediatrics; child health, nutrition

The library has Child Development & Education Textbooks for use in the Library, this area is called Course Reserves, see information desk for assistance. 

Education Full Text - Ebscohost

Includes rigorous curation and indexing of over 900 full-text active global open access (OA) journals, over 100 OA journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus, and over 4,100 education-related conference papers treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.

Educator's Reference Complete - Gale OneFile

Provides access to academic journals, reports, and reference sources in education, covering subject areas such as administration, bilingual education, child development & psychology, funding, health, technology, and testing.

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) - Ebscohost

Provides digests, citations and abstracts from journals in education. Full-text is available for some articles.

ERIC (free resource)

The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is an online library of education research and information, by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Full-text is available for some articles. ERIC work best works best with a browser other than Chrome

Professional Development Collection - Ebscohost

Provides 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Also includes 200+ educational reports.

About Professional Journals

It may be helpful to read current news about child development to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  Use the links on this page to browse and search for articles in these journals on the publishers' websites.   If the full-text is not available for free on the publisher site or the article is outside of the journal's availability, then students, faculty, and staff may request a copy using our interlibrary loan service.

 

Access these journals from Tulsa Community College Library:

Open Access Journals - scholarly research freely available on the web.

This area of the guide is currently under construction. 

Child Care & Development Sites

ReadWriteThink

Wide Variety of resources for teachers including lesson plans and graphic organizers.

 

Edutopia

Evidence-based ideas and lessons for K-12 education.

 

Knowitall

ETV's educational Web portal, a collection of fun, interactive websites for K-12 students, teachers and parents.

 

The Teaching Channel

Resources for inspiring and effective teaching shared from teachers across the country.

Films on Demand logo

Films on Demand is has many streaming videos about Child Development. Films can be viewed in their entirety by section, making them ideal for presentations. 

Youtube logo

NOTE: YouTube is a classic example of one of the strengths and weaknesses of the Internet, which is the fact that anyone can post videos. As such, the quality and scholarly acceptability of videos vary greatly. There may be useful video clips on YouTube, however, so it is worth a look. Before referencing any material from YouTube (or other video sites on the Internet) in a paper or using a clip in a presentation, though, it is highly advisable to check with your instructor concerning the acceptability of the video for the assignment.

 

Annenberg Media - Multimedia service that provides teacher professional development and teacher resources 

Edutopia Videos - Media resource made available by the George Lucas Educational Foundation

PBS KIDS - Curriculum-based media

                                 

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Profile Photo
Liz Binger
Contact:
West Campus Library
918.595.8012

  Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010

email: Library Website Help  | MyTCC |  © 2024 Tulsa Community College