It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides an integrated search across Gale literary databases including Gale Virtual Reference Library eBooks (GVRL), Literature Criticism (Online) or LCO, Literature Resource Center, and LitFinder ...
... to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a collection of expertly written work overviews.
This site also provides a link to the Gale Literary Index.
Use this database to "catch up" on the conversation. Read what others have written about the work and its creator. You can start by typing the title of the work (or the creator) into the main search box. Try different strategies:
Scroll through and click on any titles that seem useful
Use the "Search within" tool on any results screen to limit the results to only those containing a word or phrase
Use the Topic Finder button to see a visual representation of the subtopics covered within the results
Find facts, figures, quotations, definitions, and translations from 500+ reference books with scholarly articles published by Oxford. The upgraded database now Includes Oxford Reference Literature, Western Civilization, and Quick Reference.
Find information about 525,000 individuals from reference and periodical sources.
Use this database to learn more about the creator of the work. Type the name of the author/poet/playwright into the search box. Note that there will likely be one overview (or main) article about the person; however, there should be links to all kinds of other types of sources containing information about the person. The link to Reference will provide you with a list of different biographical entries from different reference books - these allow you to explore the person's life through different lenses. For example, a female African American author might be featured (written about) in biographical reference books that focus on African American women, female authors, black authors, black female authors, trends in pop culture, a particular decade, and a multitude of others.
These databases will provide you with some background knowledge about particular time periods, cultural trends, and issues. They contain reference articles that provide excellent overviews and context, along with other types of sources that can help you develop your topic and support your thesis.
The 3 Gale in Context databases will work the same way as Biography - Gale in Context, providing relevant topic overviews, as well as links to related sources of many different types. They also provide the same useful filtering options, such as Search Within Results and the Topic Finder.
Updated and changed, this offers full reports on issues and controversies in overall history with subject index, editorial cartoons, primary documents, and pro/con issues. Formerly was Issues & Controversies in American History.
An engaging online experience with contextual information on hundreds of significant people, events and topics in U.S. History, merging authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, journals, articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio, and links to vetted websites.
Contextual information containing hundreds of significant people, events and topics in World History, merging authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, journals, articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio, and links to vetted websites.
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues drawing from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.