LibGuides: 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre: Article Databases & Searching Tips

Searching the Library Catalog

Research Tips

Use keywords in library databases instead of sentences and questions.
- When searching the library catalog or one of TCC's literary databases, try search for your topic keyword(s) along with "Frankenstein" or "Shelley" first. For example: ("exploration" AND "Frankenstein") or ("gothic literature" AND "Shelley"). Try several variations to maximize the number of relevant results.
- Also consider searching for your topic along with the "criticism" or "analysis" or "literature". For example: ("alienation" AND "criticism") or ("revenge" and "literature"). While the results might not be directly related to Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, the information in those text could be used to support your argument.
To look for an exact phrase, type your phrase within quotation marks (" "). The results will contain the exact words in the quotation marks.
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a root word, known as truncation, to retrieve results containing any form of the root word.
- Example: teen* will find teens, teenage, teenager, teenagers
Use filters to refine your results by subject terms/topics, date, type of publication, language, peer-reviewed, etc.
Some databases use Boolean Operators. Narrow or expand your search by combining keywords using AND / OR / NOT operators, as shown below.

Suggested TCC Library Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebscohost
Search for full-text articles on a wide range of topics in 4700 magazines and journals.
Biography - Gale in Context
Find information about 525,000 individuals from reference and periodical sources.
Diversity Studies - Gale OneFile
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community, useful for social science, history and liberal arts.
Films on Demand Databases : Master Academic Video Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A curriculum-focused streaming video subscription has grown their unlimited access to almost 32,000 full length videos and over 293,000 segments ...
... from 26 core academic collections including Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Education, Health & Medicine, Math, Archive Films & Newsreels, Nursing, Science, and much more.
Issues & Controversies in History - Facts on File
Updated and changed, this offers full reports on issues and controversies in overall history with subject index, editorial cartoons, primary documents, and pro/con issues. Formerly was Issues & Controversies in American History.
JSTOR
Artstor is now part of JSTOR and is labelled as "IMAGES". JSTOR Includes 4 databases with over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, books, research reports, and primary sources covering 75 disciplines, including the arts. architecture, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and over 2 million images from museums, photographers, photo archives, & scholars.
Kanopy Streaming Videos
- This link opens in a new window
Search and view our TCC custom selected collection of evideos provided by Kanopy's Criterion Collection.
Salem History - Salem Press
Includes the reference ebook series Decades and Great Events in History
U.S. History - Gale in Context
An engaging online experience with contextual information on hundreds of significant people, events and topics in U.S. History, merging authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, journals, articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio, and links to vetted websites.
U.S. History - Gale OneFile
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines offering a balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly works.

1921 Tulsa Race Massacre: Article Databases & Searching Tips

Search the Library Catalog

Searching the Library Catalog

Research Tips

Suggested TCC Library Databases