Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
click map TCC Home TCC Library Home

OpenStax

This guide provides access to OpenStax books and gives information about support materials.

Educational Courseware and Software

CogBooks

CogBooks’s massively scalable adaptive learning system provides a student-centered experience, helping students learn more quickly and effectively. CogBooks learns from each individual’s actions and progress, creating a unique profile and personalized path through the material.

Instructors get access to unprecedented, real-time insights into each student’s capabilities and activities outside the classroom. The connection between instructor and student is significantly improved and everyone comes to class better and more equally prepared. With the increased efficiency of adaptive learning, instructors save time, stop feeling overloaded, and find more time to do what they most enjoy.

By understanding and addressing the whole learner experience and environment, the CogBooks approach improves retention and success rates. Students engage with materials in a whole new way, resulting in increased satisfaction and motivation and deeper learning.

CogBooks supports OpenStax BIOLOGY and U.S. HISTORY.

Connect For Education

Technology should be effortless. With over fifteen years of experience, we have learned that digital courseware and textbook solutions are only valuable when they fit in with and complement existing teaching and learning workflows. In Connect For Education webtexts, all courseware elements are integrated, easy-to-use, and expertly supported. Our titles feature a complete and rigorous online textbook and a comprehensive set of discipline-specific learning tools, assignments, and assessments. Everything runs through our powerful yet effortless course platform. We handle all course setup, customization, and support at no additional cost. 95% of students and professors rate our service as ‘exceptional.’

Our mission:

  • Build intuitive, effortless learning products that fit existing teaching and learning workflows
  • Offer exceptional service for students and instructors from day one
  • Create a teaching and learning community for advancing pedagogy through sharing

Connect For Education supports OpenStax PSYCHOLOGY.

CourseWeaver

CourseWeaver is an educational software company that delivers the LON-CAPA system created at Michigan State University. The LON-CAPA product combines a Learning Management System and Education Content channel, bridging both with Marketplace, Content Authoring Tools, and CourseBuilder features. This unites and integrates the supply, delivery, and management of education content and instruction and allows independents, authors, and professors to publish granular educational content alongside publishers and free, open-source materials, within a new integrated global marketplace – giving instructors access to select and share the best resources from around the globe.

The LON-CAPA system content includes materials from disciplines including astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, civil engineering, computer science, family and child ecology, geology, human food and nutrition, human medicine, mathematics, medical technology, physics and psychology. The platform also includes automatic grading solutions for science and math with powerful analytics, pre-made course templates and extensive user/author network.

CourseWeaver supports OpenStax COLLEGE PHYSICS.

eMath

eMath is a fully customizable online adaptive courseware focusing on student success. eMath provides ample options to help students learn and perform better in their study and assessments.

eMath supports textbooks from OpenStax with tens of thousands of algorithmic questions, a robust set of tools for managing courses and assignments, and personalized learning recommendations and remediation.

Adaptive learning is no longer a synonym of letting technology dictate teaching and learning. eMath allows instructors to customize adaptive learning activities to suit their course design.

eMath’s real-time intelligent analytics and multi-dimensional At-Risk Reports give instructors insights and actionable data about student performance and knowledge mastery. Student Early Alerts and Reminders proactively engage students, keeping them from falling behind.

eMath has been used by tens of thousands of college students. Results have consistently shown better outcomes and improved retention rates. Students perform one to two grade levels better than other major learning systems.

eMath supports OpenStax COLLEGE ALGEBRA and INTRODUCTORY STATISTICS.

Expert TA

Expert TA is a dynamic online homework and tutorial system that utilizes the latest Big Data and Analytics techniques to continually enhance user learning experiences. Designed intuitively and supported by an “always-on” network of reliable servers, you can count on Expert TA to consistently meet the needs of your students. Expert TA offers complete integration with select OpenStax titles, including every end-of-chapter question, as well as supplementary problems, all of which include direct links to associated sections of the OpenStax textbook. Instructors using Expert TA are supported by dedicated account managers, and if students have questions they can always receive an answer through our courteous customer service team, which includes a 24x7 call center and dedicated support email address. Our mission is to increase access to high-quality, low-cost learning materials, and Expert TA paired with OpenStax helps you offer your students a great educational resource, at a low price.

Expert TA supports OpenStax ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY, BIOLOGY, COLLEGE PHYSICS, PSYCHOLOGY, and U.S. HISTORY.

Junction

Junction expands upon OpenStax textbooks to deliver a complete course experience. We seamlessly integrate curated videos, practice activities, discussion boards, OpenStax textbooks, and best-in-class assessments into an easy-to-use interface available on laptops, phones or tablets. Junction courses are designed by subject matter experts, and are aligned to learning objectives and Bloom’s taxonomy.

For professors, Junction’s real-time analytics identify struggling students and our early alert system reaches them where they are, on their phones, to get them re-engaged in learning. And Junction is completely customizable, so instructors can add and remove content, assessments, and discussions to meet their syllabus.

Junction integrates with every major LMS, making it easy for professors to implement and for students to access.

Junction is already used at dozens of colleges and universities across a range of disciplines - give us a try and find out why 82% of students prefer Junction to alternatives.

Junction supports OpenStax CONCEPTS OF BIOLOGY, INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY 2E, PRINCIPLES OF ECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MACROECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MICROECONOMICS, PSYCHOLOGY, and U.S. HISTORY.

Lrnr

Lrnr creates personalized course and homework management solutions that are built on its innovative LRNR CPS® (Course Positioning System). Much like a GPS provides precise turn-by-turn direction, LRNR’s CPS® provides you with precise course control, integrating content, homework, interactivity, assessment, and analytics into a single environment.

Lrnr's CPS® offers full access to integrated OpenStax texts, with the ability to create custom assignments by selecting specific content, activities, flashcards, and quizzes at a section level. Lrnr’s course setup, assignment functionality, and student dashboards are simple and intuitive to use, and automated grading enables instructors to spend more time on student learning. Your students will save at least $120 over traditional materials.

Lrnr’s CPS® is adaptive. No two students are identical, so Lrnr's advanced algorithms provide an individualized learning path for each student based on their interactions. Lrnr also provides faculty with actionable analytics to identify areas needing additional support before tests.

Lrnr supports OpenStax ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY, COLLEGE PHYSICS, CONCEPTS OF BIOLOGY, INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY 2E, PRINCIPLES OF ECONOMICS, and PSYCHOLOGY.

Lumen

Lumen Learning provides complete, fully-customizable college courses designed using open educational resources (OER). Lumen courses save time and effort for instructors in course design, while students save millions in textbook costs.

Lumen offerings include:

  • Candela courses: A great starting point for shifting high-enrollment courses to OER, Candela courses offer e-textbook replacement for 70+ high-enrollment college subjects.
  • Waymaker courses: Combining OER with mastery learning and personalized delivery, Waymaker courses encourage students to learn how to learn more effectively, while making it simple for instructors to offer individualized attention.
  • OER degree programs: Helping institutions make a large-scale impact with open education, Lumen provides customizable OER courses along with program support for full OER degree initiatives.

Lumen courses curate open content aligned with learning outcomes, including text, video, images, graphics, simulations, quiz banks, sample assessments, and so forth. Through the institution’s LMS, students access Lumen course content from the first day of class.

Lumen supports OpenStax ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY, BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, COLLEGE PHYSICS, CONCEPTS OF BIOLOGY, INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY 2E, INTRODUCTORY STATISTICS, PRINCIPLES OF MACROECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MICROECONOMICS, PSYCHOLOGY, and U.S. HISTORY.

Memory Science

Memory Science has an e-learning platform based on neuroscience and cognitive learning techniques that helps students more accurately remember information and retain it longer. Memory Science worked with the textbook authors to create course supplements that are focused on the key, critical items in each chapter. Professors can use the entire course, specific chapters, or only content they wish to emphasize. Using the Memory Science platform has been proven to increase student grades from 25-36%, and increase the number of ‘A’ grades in a class by 56%. That means that when students have used the supplement in their class, they were able to remember more and score higher on tests. One college professor said: “…I have found the Memory Science system to be invaluable. The students also love it because it locks in the information….and they can do very well on the tests!” Download their supplements today to get started!

Memory Science supports OpenStax BIOLOGY, INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY 2E, PRINCIPLES OF ECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MACROECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MICROECONOMICS, PSYCHOLOGY, and U.S. HISTORY.

Odigia

Odigia is a Next Gen learning platform that transforms traditional one-size-fits-all content into engaging learning experiences that improve student outcomes. Odigia is available at no cost to teachers or schools, and saves students up to 90% off traditional course materials.

Odigia uses self-directed learning and game theory to drive student progression, inquiry-based discovery to naturally engage all learning styles, and high-level connections to promote the development of crucial 21st Century skills, like critical thinking, problem solving, collaboration, and communication - skills that prepare students for success in today’s workplace.

Our dashboard creates an unparalleled experience by providing the right amount of information to proactively meet the needs of students, and lets teachers get back to what they do best: teaching.

Odigia is affordable, accessible, and dynamic, and it’s changing the way people think about education.

Odigia supports OpenStax ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY, BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, COLLEGE ALGEBRA, COLLEGE PHYSICS, CONCEPTS OF BIOLOGY, INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY 2E, INTRODUCTORY STATISTICS, PRINCIPLES OF ECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MACROECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MICROECONOMICS, PSYCHOLOGY, and U.S. HISTORY.

panOpen

Designed by educators, panOpen is a learning platform that realizes the promise of OER by providing all of the components required for its widespread use. panOpen offers complete peer-reviewed content, customization tools, assessment, analytics, LMS integration, and a means of financially sustaining campus-based OER efforts.

With panOpen, faculty adopt enhanced interactive OER as they would a commercial textbook, with confidence in the quality and reliability of the content. panOpen preserves the virtues of OER--radically reducing textbook costs and freeing faculty from the constraints of commercial copyright--while delivering the quality, features, and ease-of-use faculty expect from their learning materials. The result has enormous implications for pedagogical practices, changing the relationship of teachers and students to their educational content.

panOpen supports OpenStax ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY, CONCEPTS OF BIOLOGY, INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY 2E, PRINCIPLES OF MACROECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MICROECONOMICS, PSYCHOLOGY, and U.S. HISTORY.

Sapling Learning

Sapling Systems was founded in 2005 by James Caras, PhD, a biochemistry educator. His team built an easy-to-use online homework system with a pedagogical approach. They developed customizable online content with problem-solving practice and coaching for students, as well as gradebook analytic tools allowing instructors to track student performance.

Today, Sapling Learning is a Macmillan Learning company that drives student success and saves educators’ time. Each question includes detailed, wrong-answer feedback targeted to students' misconceptions and fully worked-out solutions to reinforce concepts, guiding students through problems like a personal tutor. The Sapling Learning Tech TAs — PhD- and master's-level subject matter experts — tailor assignments to align seamlessly with an instructor's textbook and syllabus, and provide personalized support throughout each term. The system automatically tracks student progress and compiles performance analytics so instructors can identify and address student needs quickly and easily.

Sapling Learning supports ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY, BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, COLLEGE PHYSICS, CONCEPTS OF BIOLOGY, PRINCIPLES OF ECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MACROECONOMICS, and PRINCIPLES OF MICROECONOMICS.

SimBio

The open-ended simulated experiments and built-in feedback of SimBio's virtual labs and interactive tutorials engage students in critical thinking and intellectually satisfying, discovery-based learning. SimBio is particularly proud of their education research division, which regularly competes for and is awarded grants from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and other organizations. Because SimBio's teaching tools form the basis for SimBio's research, there is solid data supporting their effectiveness! With SimBio's SimUText System® (also initially funded with NSF support), instructors can pick and choose chapters from the OpenStax College Biology textbook and integrate them with SimBio's modules as a convenient and inexpensive way to incorporate active-learning into college biology courses. As a further enticement, SimBio has enhanced the OpenStax College Biology text for students with auto-graded questions, user-friendly navigation tools, and other convenient features such as a highlighting tool and the ability to insert and save notes.

SimBio supports OpenStax BIOLOGY and CONCEPTS OF BIOLOGY.

Top Hat

As a proven student engagement and interactive teaching platform, Top Hat's software helps college professors activate classrooms. In a world of digital distractions, countless academic studies have reinforced the reality that students better understand the day's lesson if they're asked to engage with peers, interact with complex material, and participate in class. By requiring students to use their personal devices to answer quizzes, reply to polls, and tackle difficult simulations, Top Hat easily and effectively transforms the passive lecture hall into an exciting learning environment. As a strong advocate for traditional, on-campus education, Top Hat not only modernizes established teaching methods, but also facilitates new approaches including the "flipped classroom," "group learning," and other creative solutions. Thousands of professors and hundreds of colleges worldwide rely on Top Hat to engage their students and improve academic performance. Top Hat is headquartered in Toronto, Canada.

Top Hat supports OpenStax ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY, BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, COLLEGE ALGEBRA, COLLEGE PHYSICS, CONCEPTS OF BIOLOGY, INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY 2E, INTRODUCTORY STATISTICS, PRINCIPLES OF ECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MACROECONOMICS, PRINCIPLES OF MICROECONOMICS, PSYCHOLOGY, and U.S. HISTORY.

WebAssign

WebAssign is a flexible and fully customizable online instructional system that puts powerful course management tools in the hands of teachers enabling them to deploy assignments, instantly assess individual student performance, and realize their teaching goals. Integrated with more than 900 science and math textbooks and enhanced with a robust selection of independently developed original content, WebAssign is easily accessible and widely adopted by over 16,000 educators each year to enrich the teaching and learning experience.

WebAssign is a mature product, successfully used by educational institutions for over 15 years. Product enhancements are continual and strategically prioritized to support the evolution of education technology and pedagogical goals. WebAssign’s combination of technology, educational expertise, and dedication to customer service is a distinctive competitive differentiator. Additionally, more than 35% of the company’s employees have teaching experience, a valued quality for our customers and unique among our competitors.

WebAssign supports CHEMISTRY, COLLEGE ALGEBRA, COLLEGE PHYSICS, and INTRODUCTORY STATISTICS.

Wiley

Wiley is a global provider of knowledge and knowledge-enabled services that improves outcomes in areas of research, professional practice and education. In Education, Wiley provides education solutions including online program management services for higher education institutions and course management tools for instructors and students, as well as print and digital content. Our WileyPLUS Learning Space platform provides OpenStax users with homework, animations and other rich media to increase student engagement. It also enables students to engage with each other while collaborating in real time around OpenStax content. Wiley's Orion adaptive learning platform helps students manage their study time by presenting an individualized study plan. Our reporting makes it easy for students and instructors to diagnose early how they are doing before their first high stakes exam and then to meaningfully measure learning outcomes throughout their course.

Wiley supports OpenStax BIOLOGY and CONCEPTS OF BIOLOGY.

XYZ Homework

XYZ Homework is built using the fastest-growing mathematics cloud platform, co-author David Lippman's Internet Math Assessment System, IMathAS. XYZ Homework gives instructors access to the OpenStax book-aligned problems, as well as tens of thousands of additional algorithmically-generated questions in other math disciplines. For one low annual price, students can take multiple courses through XYZ Homework. Professionally developed template courses are ready to go, and when combined with help from one of our experienced XYZ Course Assistants, save instructors a great deal of time.

XYZ Homework supports OpenStax COLLEGE ALGEBRA.

Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2021 Tulsa Community College