LibGuides: Route 66: The Mother Road: Themes

Disney Pixar Cars

Cars (DVD)
Hotshot rookie race car Lightning McQueen is living life in the fast lane until he hits a detour on his way to the most important race of his life. Stranded in Radiator Springs, a forgotten town on old Route 66, he meets Sally, Mater, Doc Hudson, and a variety of quirky characters who help him discover that there's more to life than trophies and fame.

Search Suggestion:

A search for Disney AND Pixar (limited to peer reviewed) yields articles that include film criticism and evaluation through various lenses.

Academic Search Premier - Ebscohost
Search for full-text articles on a wide range of topics in 4700 magazines and journals.

Nostalgia

Heritage Tourism on Route 66: Deconstructing Nostalgia
Employing a framework of heuristic inquiry, this study explores nine tourists’ experiences traveling along the Route 66 National Historic Corridor, using methodological techniques of in-depth active interviewing, personal reflection,
narrative inquiry, and photo elicitation in order to begin to evaluate the explanatory power of nostalgia theory in this context. Study participants identified various meaningful elements of their travel experiences, including historical education, interaction with diverse landscapes, interaction with hosts, and personal growth; however, their experiences did not appear to be characterized by nostalgia, as it is conceptualized in the tourism literature. The study thus emphasizes the importance of considering tourists’ interpretations.
of their experiences when generating theory about tourism phenomena.
Going Forward by Looking Back: Memory, Nostalgia and Meaning-Making in Marketing for a Sense of Place
In recent years tourism scholars and practitioners have been keenly interested in tourist experience. Researchers have also made connections between tourism and meanings of place. What is still needed is to examine tourists’ emotional connection to place, to philosophical
understandings of sense of place, and how to harness these intimate characteristics for place
marketing. This paper is “going forward by looking back” by first discussing similarities between the dimensions of the tourism experience and a sense of place...

Search Suggestion:

Search for general information about "nostalgia" in these psychology databases.

Psychology - Gale OneFile
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Ebscohost
The world's largest full-text psychology database offering coverage for nearly 400 journals, covering topics in emotional & behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
APA PsycArticles - ProQuest
Offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

The Darker Side

Search Suggestion:

Search for terms like "racism," "misogyny," or "classism" in the following databases. You might not find them in conjunction with the term "Route 66," but you can apply what you learn about these concepts to the general information about Route 66.

Academic Search Premier - Ebscohost
Search for full-text articles on a wide range of topics in 4700 magazines and journals.
Opposing Viewpoints - Gale in Context
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues drawing from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Global Issues - Gale in Context
Offers international viewpoints on global issues, topics, and current events. Features continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together sources about social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.

Steinbeck

The Grapes of Wrath 75th Anniversary Edition (Limited Edition) by John Steinbeck
Call Number: PS3537.T3234 G8 2014
ISBN: 9780670016914
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
The Grapes of Wrath (DVD)
The migration of the Joad family to California from their dust-bowl farm in Oklahoma during the Great Depression. Based on the Steinbeck novel by the same name.

Search Suggestion:

These databases are your best bets for finding scholarly articles about literature. Try keywords such as "Steinbeck" AND "Route 66" or "Grapes of Wrath" AND Biblical imagery.

JSTOR
Artstor is now part of JSTOR. JSTOR Includes 4 databases with over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, books, research reports, and primary sources covering 75 disciplines, including the arts. architecture, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and over 2 million images from museums, photographers, photo archives, & scholars.
Gale Literature
Provides an integrated search across Gale literary databases including Gale Virtual Reference Library eBooks (GVRL), Literature Criticism (Online) or LCO, Literature Resource Center, and LitFinder ...
... to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a collection of expertly written work overviews.
This site also provides a link to the Gale Literary Index.

Migration

"Reaping the Whirlwind." Films Media Group, 2012. Films On Demand, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=98054&xtid=131310. Accessed 6 Jul. 2023.

Many left the plains in search of work or to escape the dust. They joined other Americans displaced by the Great Depression on a journey west.

Search Suggestion:

Route 66 was the path many took as they migrated toward California. To find more information on migration in general, try the following databases. You could try terms such as "human migration" and then add geographic locations such as "United States" or "motivation". Keyword searching is often a trial and error process. Don't be afraid to experiment!

Academic Search Premier - Ebscohost
Search for full-text articles on a wide range of topics in 4700 magazines and journals.
Academic OneFile - Gale
Provides over 80 million peer-reviewed, full-text articles, covering a wide range of topics. The Topic Finder tool allows students to mine their search results and develop their research focus.