Women's History Month: Online Exhibits

"From a plea to a founding father, to the suffragists to Title IX, to the first female political figures, women have blazed a steady trail towards equality in the United States."

"We’re making a searchable database of the more than 50,000 women who registered to vote in Boston in the months after they gained voting rights from the Nineteenth Amendment (1920). "

"This collection contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s. "

"Explore our collection of virtual exhibits and learn about trailblazing women, past and present."

"Without the work of women who excelled in fields ranging from botany to computer science, many of today’s careers and technologies would not exist."

"Women are persistently underrepresented in various STEM fields, where the disparity begins in college classrooms. However, this disparity also has a historical basis."

"Women have long played an important but often unacknowledged role in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. "

"As of Feb. 29, 2024, 75 women have flown in space. Of these, 47 have worked on the International Space Station as long-duration expedition crewmembers, as visitors on space shuttle assembly flights, as space flight participants, or as commercial astronauts. This article recognizes the significant accomplishments of these women from many nations as well as the pioneering women who preceded them into space."

"Telling the Story of Black Women working, learning, and advocating in the Artificial Intelligence sector. We Are Here. Educate-Engage-Embrace-Empower."

"To give AI-focused women academics and others their well-deserved — and overdue — time in the spotlight, TechCrunch is launching a series of interviews focusing on remarkable women who’ve contributed to the AI revolution."

"After the passage of the 19th Amendment in 1920, women of color were often kept from the polls through a variety of tactics. They faced racial and ethnic discrimination and were often discouraged from voting via violence."

"Explore selected stories about civil rights and individual freedoms featured at our National Conversation on #RightsAndJustice: Women's Rights and Gender Equality in New York City."

"During the 19th and 20th centuries, Black women played an active role in the struggle for universal suffrage. They participated in political meetings and organized political societies. African American women attended political conventions at their local churches where they planned strategies to gain the right to vote."

"A Revolutionary Story, 1776 – 1807"

"The Suffragists Oral History Project was designed to tape record interviews with the leaders of the woman's suffrage movement in order to document their activities in behalf of passage of the Nineteenth Amendment and their continuing careers as leaders of movements for welfare and labor reform, world peace, and the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment."

"Selected music collections with a focus on women composer and musicians are included below."

"Explore collections related to women in music from across the Smithsonian. "

"This exhibition of paintings and photographs from the RCM's collection highlights the two spaces occupied by women making music: while we think of the act of playing music as a highly subjective, individualized form of expression, women were, in fact, frequently pictured “in the act” not for the sake of this individual expression but as objects in the eyes of the beholder – the men. "

Famous speech delivered by Sojourner Truth.

"Noting that the stories of African-American women were inadequately documented in the Schlesinger Library and at other centers for research, Dr. Letitia Woods Brown, professor of history at George Washington University, recommended that the Schlesinger Library of Radcliffe College collect the oral memoirs of a selected group of older black women."

"In 1976, Eileen Southern (1920–2002) became the first African American woman tenured in Harvard’s Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS). "

""There Is a Woman in Every Color" examines the representation of Black women over the past two centuries."

"Sojourner Truth was an African American evangelist, abolitionist, women’s rights activist and author who was born into slavery before escaping to freedom in 1826."

"NWHM celebrates five women that have had a profound impact in education through leadership, advocacy, and a passion for learning. Explore the stories of Catharine Beecher, Mary McLeod Bethune, Dr. Annie Webb Blanton, Dr. Mamie Phipps Clark, and Malala Yousafzai in this month’s Fab Five. "

"The holdings of the National Archives regarding women are extensive and include documents on a wide range of subjects, illustrating the dynamic involvement of American women across the spectrum of race, ethnicity, and class to secure women’s rights."

"Ursula Martius Franklin, CC, OOnt, FRSC, physicist, educator, feminist and social activist (born 16 September 1921 in Munich, Germany; died 22 July 2016 in Toronto, Ontario). A specialist in the structure of metals and alloys, she pioneered the development of archaeometry, which applies modern techniques of materials analysis to archaeology."

"Rankin was elected to Congress four years before the 19th Amendment gave women nationwide the right to vote."