This course covers the unfolding of the pattern of modern western civilization from the Renaissance to current times. Course content includes the Age of Revolution, the beginnings of industrialism in the nineteenth century and the social, economic, and political factors of recent world history.
Students who successfully complete this course will be able to:
The textbook for this course is free, and is located here: https://open.ocolearnok.org/ecorehist1063
This guide contains supplemental information about each historical era covered by the course, as well as helpful library resources.
Books: TCC Library has print books at each campus and E-books for online use.
Use Discovery Search to find books, videos, e-books, etc. If the item is held by TCC. the record will provide location information. If the item is digital, there will be a link for online access. Discovery also searches a sampling of our more commonly used databases for articles relating to your search terms.
Here are some non-database resources with historical information you may find useful for your work in this course:
Smarthistory: contains images and historical explanations of important works of art.
World History Commons: includes peer-reviewed content for world history teachers, scholars, and students.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution: this site includes 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps, a timeline, and a glossary as well as 12 topical essays about the French Revolution.
The Medici Archive Project: The Medici Archive Project (MAP) was founded to foster the study of the Mediceo del Principato, the epistolary collection of the Medici Grand Dukes, dating from 1537 to 1743.
Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Website Technical Help | MyTCC | © 2023 Tulsa Community College