LibGuides: Oklahoma Resources: Native American Resources

From TCC Library

Native American Studies Guide
This guide will help you do research related to Native American Studies.

Internet Resources

American Indian Library Association Resources
American Indian Library Association Resources contains links to Native America resources organized alphabetically.
American Indian Resource Center
"Tulsa City-County Library's American Indian Resource Center provides cultural, educational and informational resources, activities and services honoring American Indian heritage. The Center provides access to more than 4,000 books, magazines, newspapers, and media for adults and children by and about American Indians."
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Programs, services, policies, and information about regional BIA offices
Federal Websites for and about American Indians
Federal Websites For and About American Indians contains links to federal agency websites that feature information for or about Native Americans.
Indian Claims Commission Decisions
"The Indiam Claims Commission Decisions contain a wealth of information on the development of Indian law and the history of the relationship between Indian tribes and the federal government."
Laws and Treaties
"Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes."
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
"This Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library(NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents."
Oklahoma's Tribal Government Websites: History and Culture
Oklahoma's Tribal Government Websites: History and Culture contains links to Native American resources organized by tribe.

More TCC Library Resources - History

Indian Removal Act
Historical arguments for and against Indian Removal
Manifest Destiny
Historical arguments for and against Manifest Destiny

Library Resources

Image source: Hutchins & Lanny. Holding Eagle Tail, Chief of Police, in Native Dress with Breastplate and Holding Fan Tipi Nearby. Glass Negatives of Indians (Collected by the Bureau of American Ethnology) (1850s-1930s). 1891. National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution. ARTstor (NMNH_125718308).

Academic Search Premier- Ebscohost
A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 journals, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America - Ebscohost
Provides more than 350,000 citations covering a wide range of topics about indigenous peoples' culture, history, and life in North America plus expanded content from Great Britain and Australia, covering from the sixteenth century to the present. Full Text not available.
JSTOR
Artstor is now part of JSTOR. JSTOR Includes 4 databases with over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, books, research reports, and primary sources covering 75 disciplines, including the arts. architecture, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and over 2 million images from museums, photographers, photo archives, & scholars.