Other Viewpoints - Politics & Religion - Opinions, Opinions - How to Find Them

Find Different Viewpoints in MAGAZINES

There are publications that offer specific political viewpoints (conservative vs liberal) and religious beliefs on various topics.
Try one of the links below to see a listing of suggested publications with a particular viewpoint.

Politics - Liberal Viewpoint
Middle of the Political Spectrum Magazines
Politics - Conservative Viewpoint
Eastern Religions Viewpoints
Buddhism, Hinduism, and Daoist
Western Religion Viewpoint
Christian, Catholic, Jewish, Quaker, Islam, etc.

See All Article Databases

Library's Articles & Databases A to Z

Politics and Religion in Magazines

Street Signs with Liberal Left Arrow, Conservative Right Arrow

Search Specific Magazines Published with a LIBERAL Viewpoint

Mother Jones- Academic Search Premier
April 1990 to present.
Presents articles dealing with national news, investigative reporting, commentary, the arts as well as articles on health, the environment and book reviews.
Nation - MasterFile Premier
1975 to present with a 1 month delay due to publisher restrictions.
A journal of politics, economics, education, foreign policy, labor, law and other social issues, literature and the arts.
New Republic-Academic Search Premier
From 1990 to present
Presents articles in the format of reports and essays, with topics ranging from politics and economics to literature and cinema.
Progressive - Academic Search Premier
1981 to present.
Investigative reporting, analysis and commentary on major issues of political, economic and social concern. A leading voice for peace and social justice in America.

Newspapers with a Liberal viewpoint:
New York Times
Boston Globe
Los Angeles Times
Washington Post

Search Specific Magazines Published with a "MIDDLE OF THE ROAD" Political Viewpoint

Time Magazine - Academic Search Premier
1923 to present
Newsweek - Academic Search Premier
1984 to present
U.S. News & World Report - Academic Search Premier
1980 to present

Newspapers with a middle of the road or non-partisan viewpoint:
Christian Science Monitor
Chronicle of Higher Education

Search Specific Magazines Published with a CONSERVATIVE Viewpoint

National Review - Academic Search Premier
from 1975 to present.
Provides first hand reports on national, international, and cultural affairs with focus on Washington and other political hot spots.
American Spectator - Academic Search Premier
from Feb. 1990 to 2014
A national opinion magazine reaching opinion leaders in business, government & media through its coverage & analysis of business, politics, economics, foreign policy & culture.
Human Events - Academic Search Premier
from July 1993 to present.
News items of the week presented through eyes that favor limited constitutional government, local self-government, private enterprise and individual freedom.

Newspapers with a Conservative viewpoint:
Wall Street Journal
New York Post
Washington Times

Eastern Religions - Search specific magazines with a religious belief viewpoint

Contemporary Buddhism - Academic Search Premier
May 2003 to present (with a 18 month delay for full-text due to publisher embargo).
Published by Routledge with articles on current state of Buddhism from across the human sciences.
Hinduism Today (free access)
1979 - present.
Published by Himalyan Academy
Journal of Daoist Studies - Academic Search Premier
2008 to present.
Dedicated to the exploration of Daoism in all its different dimensions; includes articles in history, philosophy, art and society.

Western Religions - Search Specific Magazines Published with a religious belief viewpoint

The Fountain - (Islamic) (free access)
Archives include bimonthly issues from 1993 to present.
Published by The Light.
Muslim World (Islam) - Academic Search Premier
01/01/2000 to present in Academic Search Premier.
Full-text and Peer-reviewed journal published by Wiley-Blackwell. "Articles on Islamic theology, literature, philosophy...Christian-Muslim relationship in past and present, book reviews...."
Commentary (Jewish) - Academic Search Premier
From Sept. 1990 to present.
Presents articles dealing with current events, with an emphasis on politics, social science and culture, with special interest in Jewish affairs.
Tikkun (Jewish) - Academic Search Premier
01/01/2000 to present.
Full-text articles known for Jewish critique of politics, culture & society.
America (Catholic) - Academic Search Premier
01/04/1992 to present with full-text issues.
Catholic social commentary & opinion. Published by America Press ("Jesuits for the well-informed reader. Timely & thought-provoking articles by prestigious writers & theologians."
Christian Century - Academic Search Premier
Full-text available 01/05/1994 to present.
"A nondenominational magazine that features articles on religion, politics, and other current events." Published by Christian Century Foundation.
Christianity Today - Academic Search Premier
Full-text articles from May 1990 to present.
"Contains news, articles, editorials, and reviews on Christian life for ministers and other religious professionals." Published by Christianity Today International.
Liberty : a magazine of religious freedom (Seventh-day Adventist Church) (free access)
Issues in archives available from 1997 to present.
Published by the Seventh-day Adventist Church.
National Catholic Reporter - Academic Search Premier
Full-text articles 06/04/1993 to present.
"Features articles, commentary, profiles, and interviews, religious thinking, and news of note on all aspects of the Catholic Church worldwide." Published by National Catholic Reporter Publishing Co.
Quaker Studies - Academic Search Premier
09/01/2000 to present (with 3 month delay)
"Covers all aspects of Quakerism including anthropology, architecture, art, cultural studies, peace studies..."Published by Quaker Studies Research Association.

Opinions, Opinions - How to Find Them: Other Viewpoints - Politics & Religion