LibGuides: Native American Studies: Websites & Online Collections

Social Media for Museums, Libraries, etc.

(1/4) Global Indios is a magnificent study which documents more than 100 lawsuits Indigenous enslaved people living in Castile brought to the Spanish courts to secure their freedom between 1530 and 1585. #twitterstorians #slaveryarchive pic.twitter.com/7BYlHli13N
— Native Bound Unbound (@NatBoundUnbound) November 21, 2022

On view now through September 27 in "Crystal Bridges at 10" 👀https://t.co/Y1oLv9J80N https://t.co/mW0mEMRgtg
— Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art (@crystalbridges) August 19, 2021

Watch a 450-year-old cedar tree become transformed into an ocean-going Tlingit dugout canoe by youth from the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations with the help of a master boat builder. https://t.co/dPJRDrbUQL via @CBCNorthbeat pic.twitter.com/YoOBb3IslZ
— Museum of Anthropology at UBC (@MOA_UBC) September 1, 2021

Always up to some tricks 😂 we have an e-copy of Berlin Blues featuring other oddly placed pieces on Anishnawbe land 🎡🎢 https://t.co/LtrDRw7lxq https://t.co/63ZW8gr6Af
— X̱wi7x̱wa Library (@Xwi7xwaLibrary) September 2, 2021

Sept. 24-27 - Smithsonian to host the virtual symposium “The Other Slavery: Histories of Indian Bondage from New Spain to the Southwestern United States” https://t.co/k7M54iac2O
— AmericanIndianMuseum (@SmithsonianNMAI) September 15, 2021

#DYK: @HoopaTribe’s wildlife division has collected and maintained some of the most detailed data about fishers (a weasel-like animal) in North America. Read about their efforts to monitor this culturally important species here ⬇️ https://t.co/XB5jVCtM5t
— The Office of Indian Education (@OIEIndianED) April 13, 2022

https://t.co/LIS05Snln0
— Mvskoke Media (@MvskokeMedia) March 21, 2022

General Websites

Encyclopedia Smithsonian
Native Appropriations
Blog
American Indian Tribes in Oklahoma - Oklahoma Historical Society
Tribal website directory
Confused about the McGirt U.S. Supreme Court ruling? We’ve got you covered
The Frontier
The PSIG Project
"Identifying and Honoring the Students of the Presbyterian School for Indian Girls, the Indigenous Boarding School that became the University of Tulsa"

Associations, Organizations, and etc.

Indian Land Tenure Foundation - Indian Lands in Indian Hands
A "national, community-based organization serving American Indian nations and people in the recovery and control of their rightful homelands. "
American Indian Library Association
"An affiliate of the American Library Association (ALA), the American Indian Library Association is a membership action group that addresses the library-related needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives."
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
The NCTR is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of the residential school experience will be honoured and kept safe for future generations.
National Congress of American Indians
"The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities."
Oral History Association
Since 1966, the Oral History Association has served as the principal membership organization for people committed to the value of oral history. OHA engages with policy makers, educators, and others to help foster best practices and encourage support for oral history and oral historians. With an international membership, OHA serves a broad and diverse audience including teachers, students, community historians, archivists, librarians, and filmmakers.
National Indian Child Welfare Association
'NICWA works to eliminate child abuse and neglect by strengthening our families, tribes, and the laws that protect them.'
The Sustainable Heritage Network
Link to online tribal project with conference recordings on tribal collections
First Nations Information Governance Centre
The First Nations Information Governance Centre is an independent, apolitical, and technical non-profit organization operating with a special mandate from the Assembly of First Nations’ Chiefs-in-Assembly (Resolution #48, December 2009).
Protocols for Native American Archival Materials
Indigitization
Indigitization is a BC based collaborative initiative between Indigenous communities and organizations, the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, the Museum of Anthropology, Northern BC Archives (UNBC), and X̱wi7x̱wa Library, and the Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology (CTLT) to facilitate capacity building in Indigenous information management.
Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, & Museums
An international non-profit organization that maintains a network of support for Indigenous programs, provides culturally relevant programming and services, encourages collaboration among tribal and non-tribal cultural institutions, and articulates contemporary issues related to developing and sustaining the cultural sovereignty of Native Nations.

Oklahoma State and Federal Government Links

Dawes Rolls: Final Rolls of Citizens and Freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory, Members of the Five Civilized Tribes
Federal Websites for Tribal Libraries and Tribal College Libraries (Wayback Machine link version)
Recommended Sites from the Oklahoma Department of Libraries
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Includes all states
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
more...less...
This Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library(NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents.
American Indian materials in Oklahoma's federal depository libraries
July 2010. "Bibliography of Native American materials held by Oklahoma Federal Depository Libraries, compiled by Steve Beleu, July 2010."
more...less...
July 2010. "Bibliography of Native American materials held by Oklahoma Federal Depository Libraries, compiled by Steve Beleu, July 2010."
Oklahoma Department of Libraries: Forty-Six important Federal Publications About Oklahoma-the 46th State
Oklahoma Historical Society: Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture
Tribal governments and Native Americans
USA.gov
Tribes and Villages of Oklahoma
Contact information for the Indian tribes of Oklahoma
University of Oklahoma Law School - American Indian and Indigneous Peoples Law
See information about the Law program specializing in American Indians and Indigenous Peoples at Univ. of OK.
National Registry of American Historic Places
Oklahoma Native American Tribes
"ODL has gathered these resources to present information on tribal government and other sites related to the rich history of the Oklahoma Native American tribes for those interested in the geographic origins of the tribes who were removed to Oklahoma."

Museums & Online Collections

Will Rogers Memorial Museum - Curator's Corner
AIATSIS
"Explore Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australia. Engage with the oldest surviving culture in the world. Cultures that are ancient and living."
American Indian Histories and Cultures
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
Circle of Stories - PBS
'Circle of Stories uses documentary film, photography, artwork and music to honor and explore Native American storytelling.'
Crystal Bridges - Art for New Understanding
Doris Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History
First Americans Museum of Oklahoma
Five Civilized Tribes Museum
Gilcrease Online Collections
IDA Treaties Explorer
"The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands."
Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
Ojibwe People's Dictionary
Oklahoma Historical Society
Oral History Archives - Columbia University
OSU Digital Collection - Indian Claims Commission Decisions
OSU - Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Pequot Museum
"The Pequot Museum is committed to transforming how indigenous culture and peoples are represented to accurately portray a next generation Native narrative that gives greater understanding to the evolution of a new Native voice. "
Philbrook Online Collections
NAMA – Native American Museum of Art
National Gallery of Art, Washington, D. C.
Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
Mitchell Museum of the American Indian
"The Mitchell Museum is one of only a handful of museums across the nation that focuses exclusively on the art, history, culture, and current events of American Indian and First Nations peoples from throughout the US and Canada."
Plateau People's Web Portal
SEQUOYAH NATIONAL RESEARCH CENTER
"The Sequoyah National Research Center (SNRC) holds the world’s most comprehensive collection of American Indian, Alaska Native, and First Nations newspapers, periodicals, and other publications."
Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian
The Indigenous Digital Archive
Black History is Oklahoma History
Oklahoma Historical Society Resources
National Museum of the American Indian

Libraries (and see other boxes)

American Indian Resource Center
Tulsa City-County Library
Indigenous Studies Guides - Library of Congress
Guides by the LOC.
The American Indian Movement, 1968-1978 - Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Founded in July 1968 in Minneapolis, Minnesota, the American Indian Movement (AIM) is an American Indian advocacy group organized to address issues related to sovereignty, leadership, and treaties. Particularly in its early years, AIM also
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs. You can find some of our most popular resources below.
Tribal Writers Digital Library - Sequoyah National Research Center
The Native Writers Digital Text Project brings the works of Native poets and writers of fiction and other prose to readers world wide. Featuring out-of-print literary efforts of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada, the project seeks to broaden the definition of “Native Writing” not only by focusing on writers who are not ordinarily anthologized, but also by publishing works which originally appeared in “ephemeral” sources and the periodical press, especially in those publications edited and produced by Natives.
World Digital Library - Library of Congress
X̱wi7x̱wa Library
"Xwi7xwa Library is a centre for academic and community Indigenous scholarship. Its collections and services reflect Aboriginal approaches to teaching, learning, and research. Everyone is welcome to visit Xwi7xwa Library."