LibGuides: Find a Book Review: Book Reviews in Library Databases

Before 1985 - Find Book Reviews in JSTOR and New York Times

Poland by James Michener (a bestseller in 1983)

To find reviews for books published before 1985, you can also find those book reviews in our online article databases JSTOR , and New York Times below.

JSTOR
Find book reviews in many of the full-text journals in JSTOR
New York Times (New First Time and returning TCC users)
This is a direct "group" subscription for TCC students, faculty, and staff.

FIRST-TIME NYT users may CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT using a TCC COMPUTER located on a TCC CAMPUS. Activate the new personal access "PASS" for the New York Times using the link above, or through this webpage at: www.nytimes.com/activate-access/ippass

RETURNING users (if you've already activated your NYT "PASS" for access) may LOG-IN using the above link, or through the NYT website at: www.NYTimes.com
PROFESSORS may access the New York Times education site with more features for use in instruction, classes, and research by registering (this is a separate registration, for the first time use) at - www.nytimes.com/edu

Another source of older book reviews can be found on Metro Campus's Library in Book Review Digest.
For books published in 1925 to 2007, use the print Book Review Digest series located at: Z1219 .C96 Z1219 .C96 to find your book review in Book Review Digest. First, find the volume with the publication date, then search by title or author then look at the excerpts from book reviews. It will list the magazine name, issue number, date, and page number. Your campus librarian can assist you with finding the full text of the book review in TCC article databases or via interlibrary loan.

After 1985 - Find Book Reviews in Magazines, Newspapers, and Journals

Use the Library's subscription databases listed below to search for full-text book reviews.

Newspaper Source Plus- Ebscohost
Select "Book Review" in "Document Type" below the search boxes.
Literature Criticism Online - Gale
In this database, you can find excerpts of reviews in four series; Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism and Contemporary Literary Criticism
Not all criticism text is available online due to copyright. Ask a Librarian for help.
JSTOR
JSTOR offers full-text articles from scholarly journals. To quickly find book reviews, set your search limits to Reviews.

Academic Search Premier - Ebscohost
Select "Book Review" in "Document Type" below the search boxes.

See book reviews from New York Times Book Review in Gale Literature Resource Center

Our database, Gale Literature Resource Center, provides full text access to the New York Times Book Review from January 2001 through the present. You can get to this database at the link Articles & Databases on the Library's home page. Once there, follow these steps listed below:

To find a review on a specific book:

1. Select "Advanced Search"

2. Enter the title of the book you want a review for into the first search box

3. Enter New York Times Book Review in the second box, and change the search field to Publication Title

To get to a particular issue of the New York Times Book Review:

1. From the Library's home page, select the link Articles & Databases

2. Enter New York Times Book Review in the Journal Title Finder search box

3. Select the title link to access the publication record in Gale's database.

4. Select the date of the issue you need OR use the SEARCH WITHIN box to search for a specific title, series, or author