LibGuides: Introduction to Psychology (PSYC 1113): Books &amp; E-books

Search the Catalog

Reference Shelf

The TCC Library collection includes online subject specific encyclopedias and dictionaries which you can use to search for definition and history of psychology theories, influential psychologist, and definitions of psychology terms.

Dictionary of Psychology (e-book online)
From Oxford Reference Online database.
This dictionary covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics.
Oxford Companion to the Mind (e-book online)
From Oxford Reference Online database.
This reference book includes "concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the ‘cocktail-party’ and ‘halo’ effects, and the least effort principle"

How to Find Books (print and ebooks) in the Library

On the library's website, use the online Library catalog for books/e-books on topics in psychology, select the Books link
There several ways to search the catalog, here are some suggested strategies:

Keyword in Authors Jung, Carl or Freud, Sigmund
Keyword in Subjects Examples include: Criminal Psychology. Cognition. Self-acceptance

The bookshelves designated with call number starting with "BF" will have books on psychology, psychologists, the mind, and emotions.

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that allows you to request a book or article from another library. Use the Request Form.

Print Books on Psychology

Freud and Beyond by Margaret J. Black; Stephen A. Mitchell
Call Number: BF173 .M58 Northeast Campus
Sigmund Freud's concepts have become a part of our psychological vocabulary: unconscious thoughts and feelings, conflict, the meaning of dreams, the sensuality of childhood. But psychoanalytic thinking has undergone an enormous expansion and transformation since Freud's death in 1939. Stephen A. Mitchell and Margaret J. Black make the full scope of twentieth century psychoanalytic thinking. Richly illustrated with case examples, this lively, jargon-free introduction makes modern psychoanalytic thought accessible at last.
Beyond Schizophrenia by Marjorie L. Baldwin
Call Number: HV3005 .B35 Southeast Campus
The experience of living and working with schizophrenia is often fraught with challenges and setbacks. As a researcher of economics and disability and the mother of a son with schizophrenia, the author speaks from both professional and personal experience. First, she looks at societal factors that affect employment outcomes for persons with schizophrenia (or other serious mental illness), including stigma and discrimination, investments in human capital, the quality of mental health services, and the support of family and friends. Then she examines workplace factors that affect employment outcomes, including employer mandates in the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Psychology ebooks

Our Minds, Our Selves by Keith Oatley
Call Number: online ebook
An original history of psychology told through the stories of its most important breakthroughs and the people who made them. In Our Minds, Our Selves, distinguished psychologist and writer Keith Oatley provides an engaging, original, and authoritative history of modern psychology told through the stories of its most important breakthroughs and the men and women who made them Controversial experiments--such as Stanley Milgram's investigation of our willingness to obey authority and inflict pain and Philip Zimbardo and his colleagues' study of behavior in a simulated prison--are covered in detail.
Games and Bereavement by Sabine Harrer
Call Number: online ebook
How can videogames portray love and loss? Games and Bereavement answers this question by analyzing five videogames and conducting a participatory design study with grievers. Sabine Harrer offers both theoretical and practical perspectives on videogames and grief and suggests a design model for videog
games to include grievers into game development. Overall, she explores how video games can be used as a contemporary medium for personal storytelling.