LibGuides: Focus on Persepolis: Research

Databases

Literature Databases:

Gale Literature
Provides an integrated search across Gale literary databases including Gale Virtual Reference Library eBooks (GVRL), Literature Criticism (Online) or LCO, Literature Resource Center, and LitFinder ...
... to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a collection of expertly written work overviews.
This site also provides a link to the Gale Literary Index.
JSTOR
Artstor is now part of JSTOR and is labelled as "IMAGES". JSTOR Includes 4 databases with over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, books, research reports, and primary sources covering 75 disciplines, including the arts. architecture, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and over 2 million images from museums, photographers, photo archives, & scholars.

General Databases:

Academic Search Premier - Ebscohost
Search for full-text articles on a wide range of topics in 4700 magazines and journals.
Academic OneFile - Gale
Provides over 80 million peer-reviewed, full-text articles, covering a wide range of topics. The Topic Finder tool allows students to mine their search results and develop their research focus.

Social & Current Event Databases

Global Issues - Gale in Context
Offers international viewpoints on global issues, topics, and current events. Features continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together sources about social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
War and Terrorism - Gale OneFile
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering military science, history, and social science, with balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.

Use keywords in library databases instead of sentences and questions.
- When searching the library catalog or one of TCC's literary databases, try search for your topic keyword(s) along with "Persepolis" or "Marjane Satrapi" first. For example: ("revolution" AND "Persepolis") or ("family" AND "Marjane Satrapi"). Try several variations to maximize the number of relevant results.
- Also consider searching for your topic along with the "criticism" or "analysis" or "literature". For example: ("rebellion" AND "criticism") or ("oppression" and "literature"). While the results might not be directly related to Persepolis, the information in those text could be used to support your argument.
To look for an exact phrase, type your phrase within quotation marks (" "). The results will contain the exact words in the quotation marks.
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a root word, known as truncation, to retrieve results containing any form of the root word.
- Example: teen* will find teens, teenage, teenager, teenagers
Use filters to refine your results by subject terms/topics, date, type of publication, language, peer-reviewed, etc.
Some databases use Boolean Operators. Narrow or expand your search by combining keywords using AND / OR / NOT operators, as shown below.