LibGuides: American Federal Government (POLS 1113): Find Articles

Scholarly Journal Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebscohost
Search for full-text articles on a wide range of topics in 4700 magazines and journals.
Military & Government Collection - Ebscohost
300 journals on current news of all branches of the military and government
JSTOR
Artstor is now part of JSTOR. JSTOR Includes 4 databases with over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, books, research reports, and primary sources covering 75 disciplines, including the arts. architecture, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and over 2 million images from museums, photographers, photo archives, & scholars.

Database Tutorials

JSTOR Research Basics
A quick and easy self-paced tutorial series that explains how to use JSTOR to find articles.
Basic Searching-Ebscohost Databases

Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus - Ebscohost
Includes 1,570 full-text newspapers, providing more than 27 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 583,100 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.

New York Times--full access via TCC Subscription
Create an individual user account for full TCC subscription access to the New York Times website.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
Full-text articles, 1984 to current.

Need a Research Topic?

Issues & Controversies in American History -Facts on File
Covers notable events and issues of American history, politics, and U. S. government. Includes primary sources, editorial cartoons, and pro/con articles.

What does "peer-reviewed journal" mean?

In 3 minutes, viewers of this video will become familiar with the peer-review process and understand its significance to new knowledge production and scholarly research. Thanks to North Carolina State University Libraries.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Wondering if a journal is peer-reviewed/scholarly?
Use Ulrichsweb, an authoritative directory of periodicals, to verify if a specific journal is peer-reviewed. Ulrichsweb allows for easy title searching. Follow the link below.

Ulrichsweb - Proquest
Publication information about 300,000 periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers, newletters, and more)

General Research Databases

Biography - Gale in Context
Find information about 525,000 individuals from reference and periodical sources.
Issues & Controversies - Facts on File
Explore more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.