LibGuides: Biology for Majors (BIOL 1224): Home

Databases

Science - Gale in Context
Contains contextual information on today's most significant science topics in full-text magazines, academic journals, articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
ScienceDirect - Elsevier
College Edition Journals Collection for Health & Life Sciences has journal articles from disciplines including nursing, agriculture, biology, biochemistry, environmental and health sciences, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, veterinary science, and more.

How Stuff Works
HowStuffWorks explains the curiosities of our world, delving into everything from cyber security and housecleaning tips to the physics of black holes and the history of slang.
Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions.
Popular Science
Popular Science explains the inner workings of the phone in your pocket, explores world-changing innovations, and examines everything from the marvels of deep space to the secret lives of staples like bread.

Biology 2e by Mary Ann Clark; Jung Choi; Matthew Douglas
Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science
The world's largest multidisciplinary scientific society and a leading publisher of cutting-edge research through its Science family of journals, AAAS has individual members in more than 91 countries around the globe.
The American Institute of Biological Sciences
The American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) public charitable organization dedicated to the use of science to inform decision making for the benefit of the science and society. Our staff members work to achieve the mission by publishing the peer-reviewed journal BioScience, by providing scientific peer review and advisory services to a wide variety of research organizations, and by collaborating with scientists, students, and institutions to advance public policy, education, and the public understanding of science.