Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The United States National Archives has a National Personnel Records Center in St. Louis, Missouri to store the service records of all members, former and current, of the United States military.
Archives and Collections of Materials about Veterans
Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project
The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project documents the female experience in the U.S. Armed Forces through letters, papers, photographs, published materials, uniforms, artifacts, and oral histories. It contains more than 500 individual collections which includes 300 oral histories. Housed and maintained in the University Archives in Jackson Library, the materials are a research collection for scholars of military history as well as women's studies.
GVSU Veterans History Project
The Library of Congress established the Veterans History Project in 2001 to collect memories, accounts and documents of U.S. war veterans from WWII and the Korean, Vietnam, and conflicts in the Middle East and elsewhere and to preserve these stories for future generations. These Grand Valley State University History Department interviews are part of this work-in-progress, and may contain videos, audio recordings, transcripts, related documents, and photographs.
Historic Government Documents from World War II
Southern Methodist University Library - The Historic Government Publications from World War II contains 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War. The documents are held by Government Information Resources.
Japanese American Veterans Association
Resources on the Japanese Americans who served in the United States Military.
Korean War Propaganda Leaflet Collection
North Dakota State University Library - The Korean War Propaganda Leaflet Collection preserved at the NDSU Institute for Regional Studies provides a unique look into an aspect of the war often overlooked. Based upon what President Truman called “the campaign of truth” these leaflets became one of the primary means of winning the hearts and minds of enemy troops and Korean civilians.
Salem Archives Militaria Collection
The collections are items owned, used or obtained by members of our nations armed forced, most of these soldiers are from Salem, Massachusetts or New England. This includes complete collections as well as individual named pieces.
The Virtual Vietnam Archive
Texas Tech University - The Virtual Vietnam Archive currently contains over 3.2 million pages of scanned materials.
Types of material include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for users to download.
Veterans Day Photostream
U.S. National Archives Flickr Photostream for Veterans Day
Veterans History Project
Library of Congress - The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.
Veterans History Project Digital Archive
Partner with Library of Congress, Central Connecticut State University's project collects oral histories along with war documents from American veterans and the civilians who actively supported them during World Wars I and II, the Korean War, the Vietnam Conflict, the Persian Gulf War, and the Afghanistan and Iraq Conflicts. The Veterans History Project is sponsored by the Center for Public Policy and Social Research and the Burritt Library at Central Connecticut State University.
Veterans Memorial Hall Collections
Veterans’ Memorial Hall is a joint project of the St. Louis County Historical Society and the United States Military service veterans of northeastern Minnesota, with a mission to gather, preserve, interpret, and promote the rich and diverse human experiences of veterans, their families, and communities through museum, archival, and educational programs.
Vietnam Veterans Memorial Collection
National Park Service Museum Resource Center - A collection and exhibition of items left at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington, DC. While these objects are not usually Vietnam related, they are kept in the collection as part of the offerings left at the Memorial.
War Poster Collection
University of Washington - A selection of World War I and II posters from the University of Washington Libraries Special Collections Division collections. Included are propaganda on purchasing war bonds, the importance of national security and posters from allied and axis powers.
Wisconsin Veterans Museum
The Wisconsin Veterans Museum holds a notable collection of historical material across several categories- artifacts, archives, library and oral histories.
World War I Panoramas
Library of Congress Flikr Collection - These long panoramic photographs show U. S. military personnel and camps, patriotic parades, and European battlefields and cemeteries related to WWI.
World War I Postcards from the Bowman Gray Collection
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill - Postcards were among the existing forms of print communications drafted into the war effort. Already popular as a means of correspondence and as collectible objects, postal cards made a rapid transition to serve the communication and propaganda agendas of the nations at war. The Gray postcard site features a collection of war-themed cards produced in Great Britain, France, Italy, Germany, Russia, and the U.S. during World War One (1914-1918).
World War II Veterans of Mount Horeb
University of Wisconsin - The digital collection, World War II Veterans of Mount Horeb, is an effort to honor the sacrifices and achievements of Mount Horeb veterans and to ensure their place in local history. The collection brings together several types of materials: books, photographs, audio interviews, slides, and personal scrapbooks and memorabilia. The Mount Horeb Public Library began this project by personally interviewing willing WWII veterans.
Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2021 Tulsa Community College