Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
click map TCC Home TCC Library Home

Copyright Guide: TCC Copyright Policy

A focus on copyright issues which may concern TCC faculty and staff -- including fair use, the TEACH Act, public domain and other copyright exceptions and issues. Nothing in this guide is to be construed as legal advice.

This Guide Maintained By:

Profile Photo
Amanda Ross
she/her
Contact:
When not working remotely: Northeast Campus, Access Services Office
918-595-7568
Subjects: Geography, Humanities

FAQ SEARCH

TCC Copyright Policy

COPYRIGHT POLICY  

As a provider of intellectual content and as an institution with the technological means of displaying, copyingand transmitting that content, Tulsa Community College expects employees, students, guests, or other users of College facilities and equipment to comply with the Copyright Act of 1976, 17 U.S.C. §§ 101-1332 (2012) and the related acts, which further define the proper use of copyrighted materials, and this copyright policyTCC’s copyright policy and procedures apply to all full-time and part-time members of the College community involved in the copying of material, including students on and off campus and adjunct instructors teaching credit or continuing education courses. The TCC Library, under the Office of the Dean of Libraries and Knowledge Management, is the clearinghouse for copyright information and provides general advice on all aspects of copyright for the TCC community. This office is also responsible for maintaining guidelines for the use of copyrighted material and providing information to help faculty, administration, staff, and students understand their obligations to respect the rights of authors and to have a general knowledge of the US Copyright Law and its Fair Use provisions.  

 

Please see the TCC Student, Employee, and Faculty handbooks and the "Copyright Topics" tab on this guide for more information.

Copyright Clearance

The Office of the Dean of Libraries is the clearinghouse for copyright information and provides general information on all aspects of copyright for the Tulsa Community College community. This office is also responsible for maintaining guidelines for the use of copyrighted material in the areas of audiovisual works, computer software, databases and CD-ROMs, distance learning transmissions, document reproduction, instructional computer presentations, and/or music and performances.

If you are unsure if something needs to be cleared by the Dean of Libraries, Paula Settoon, you can contact the Access Services Librarian, Amanda Ross, who handles Copyright Clearance Center pay-per-uses and filters requests and questions related to copyright. She provides education and individual consultations, preferably via email. She is not a lawyer and does not provide legal advice or representation. She can be contacted at amanda.ross87@tulsacc.edu or 918-595-7568.

NOTICE WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS

The copyright law of the United States (title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

See these links for more information:

§201.14 Warnings of copyright for use by certain libraries and archives

17 U.S. Code § 108 - Limitations on exclusive rights: Reproduction by libraries and archives

Library Photocopying

Reserves & E-Reserves

Faculty or departments may place reserve textbooks or other materials in the library for student use. Please contact the campus location where you would like the reserves to be housed. 

The following are a few guidelines for the library's involvement with electronic course reserves

  • We can help faculty find and evaluate alternative electronic resources, such Open Educational Resources and articles from our databases. While we welcome resource suggestions, we cannot commit to purchasing textbooks due to budgetary restrictions. 
  • We offer copyright guidance and education to help faculty make a fair use assessment. The Access Services Office can also help in obtaining copyright clearance. We are happy to assist with the process, however the ultimate fair use assessment and use decision will remain with the faculty. Library employees cannot commit to creating scans for faculty. 
  • While we do help students find resources, we will refer all questions about course reserves, textbooks, and other course materials to faculty.

Any questions or concerns about electronic reserves, Open Educational Resources, copyright, or alternative resources can be referred to your Subject Liaison Librarian, or one of your campus librarians.

 

This information, and more, can also be found on our Library Information for Faculty research guide. 


 

Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2021 Tulsa Community College