LibGuides: Microbiology (BIOL 2164): Websites

Microbiology Websites

Scientists have discovered bacteria thriving deep in sediments more than 500 meters (1,600 feet) below the Pacific Ocean floor.

American Society for Microbiology
more... less...

The American Society for Microbiology is the oldest and largest single life science membership organization in the world. Membership has grown from 59 scientists in 1899 to more than 39,000 members today, with more than one third located outside the United States. The members represent 26 disciplines of microbiological specialization plus a division for microbiology educators.
BioMed Central
more... less...

BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 220 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
Centers for Disease Control
more... less...

The CDC is one of the major operating components of the United States' Department of Health and Human Services. Its mission is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
Encyclopedia Of Life
more... less...

The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) began in 2007 with the bold idea to provide “a webpage for every species." EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one massive database and a single, easy-to-use online portal at EOL.org
Foodborne Illness Outbreak Database
more... less...

The database describes outbreaks occurring since 1984. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) defines an outbreak as “two or more ill persons linked to a common source” and this serves as the basis of outbreakdatabase.com. To be included in outbreakdatabase.com, the outbreak must have supporting documentation from public health agencies, journal articles, media reports, etc. Names of stores, brands, restaurants, or other sources are listed if they have been publicly identified previously.
Foodborne Outbreaks - CDC
MicrobeWorld Video
more... less...

A video podcast highlighting the latest in microbiology, life science and biotechnology news.
National Science Digital Library
more... less...

NSDL is the nation's online portal for education and research on learning in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.
Science.gov
more... less...

Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Science.gov provides a search of over 60 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2200 scientific Websites.
U.S. National Library of Medicine-National Institues of Health
more... less...

The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
Microbiology Society
more... less...

The Microbiology Society is a membership charity for scientists interested in microbes, their effects and their practical uses.
It is one of the largest microbiology societies in Europe with a worldwide membership based in universities, industry, hospitals, research institutes and schools.

Evaluating the Websites

When looking at information online, consider the following criteria:

Currency - How timely is the information?

Relevancy - Does it meet your information needs?

Authority - What is the source of the information?

Accuracy - Is the information correct?

Purpose - Does the information teach, sell, entertain or persuade?

Microbiology Organizations

The American Society for Microbiology
Today AAHA serves approximately 5,500 practice teams in the U.S. and Canada, over half of which are accredited, comprised of more than 50,000 veterinary care providers. AAHA has established a reputation for its dedication to professional development, hospital accreditation standards, and excellent education programs.

Terminology

Never-before-seen microbes, which feed off energy from radiation in a manner similar to the way plants harness sunlight through photosynthesis.