LibGuides: Microbiology (BIOL 2164): Find Articles

Selected Research Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebscohost
Search for full-text articles on a wide range of topics in 4700 magazines and journals.
CINAHL with Full Text - Ebscohost
Resource for Nursing and Allied Health plus biomedicine, dentistry, and consumer health.
Health and Medicine - Gale OneFile
Provides full-text articles from popular and scholarly publications on a variety of health issues.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - Ebscohost
Medical and nursing scholarly journals with full-text articles
MEDLINE - Ebscohost
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Full text not available.
Nursing & Allied Health Database - ProQuest
Offers reliable, comprehensive scholarly coverage of the fields of nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, etc., including journals, video, dissertations, reference books, and more.
Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection (Journals@Ovid)
The updated edition of the Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection provides access to over 80 of today’s top nursing and allied health journals. Also included are some full text backfiles for a number of additional journals.
Public Library of Science - PLOS (free resource)
Public Library of Science (PLOS) is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PubMed (free resource)
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals, coveringbiomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full-text articles and other resources.
Science - Gale in Context
Contains contextual information on today's most significant science topics in full-text magazines, academic journals, articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
ScienceDirect - Elsevier
College Edition Journals Collection for Health & Life Sciences has journal articles from disciplines including nursing, agriculture, biology, biochemistry, environmental and health sciences, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, veterinary science, and more.

What does "peer-reviewed journal" mean?

In 3 minutes, viewers of this video will become familiar with the peer-review process and understand its significance to new knowledge production and scholarly research. Thanks to North Carolina State University Libraries.

How do I know if this a peer-reviewed (scholarly) journal?

Input the title of the journal in question to Ulrich's Periodical Directory below to verify. The title for which you are searching will usually be found at the top of the results list. Click the title for detailed information about the journal (including whether the journal is scholarly).

Ulrich's Periodical Directory
more...less...
The authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world

Search for a specific journal

To search for a specific journal by title or ISSN, use the link here:

https://tulsacommunitycollege-library.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles#journal