Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
click map TCC Home TCC Library Home

Human Services: Scholarly Articles

Major mainly offered on the Northeast Campus however some courses are also taught at the Southeast campus and at NSU-BA

Search for Articles


WorldCat Discovery Search for Articles

Use this search box to search some of our general databases all at once, or select a recommended database from the list below.

Academic Database Recommendations

Helpful Handouts

Video Tutorials

Search Tips

  • Use keywords in library databases instead of sentences and questions. 
  • To look for an exact phrase, type your phrase within quotation marks ("  "). The results will contain the exact words in the quotation marks.
  • Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a root word, known as truncation, to retrieve results containing any form of the root word.
    • Example: teen* will find teens, teenage, teenager, teenagers
  • Use filters to refine your results by subject terms/topics, date, type of publication, language, peer-reviewed, etc.
  • Some databases use Boolean Operators. To narrow or expand your search combine keywords effectively using AND, OR, NOT operators, as shown below.

            

Scholarly Journals and Ulrich's Periodical Directory

Is it a scholarly journal?

Would you like to use a journal but don't know if it comes from a scholarly journal? Search for the journal title in Ulrich's Web-- a directory that provides detailed information on all types of periodicals, including scholarly journals.

Scholarly journals are sometimes called academic journals, peer-reviewed journals, or refereed journals. In Ulrich's Web they call them refereed. Look for the referee jersey icon.

A scholarly article usually has a summary or abstract at the beginning. They're written by scholars for others scholars. At the end of a scholarly article you will see a reference list detailing the sources used to write the article. 

IMPORTANT: Please note that when you are looking a scholarly article an EDITORIAL or a BOOK REVIEW is not acceptable, even if the editorial or book review is published in a scholarly journal. That's because editorials and book reviews do not function as scholarly articles, which report new research or analyze a topic in depth. Instead, an editorial article gives an opinion, and a book review describes and evaluates new books related to the field of focus of a particular scholarly journal.

Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010

email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2022 Tulsa Community College