Poland by James Michener (a bestseller in 1983)
To find reviews for books published before 1985, you can also find those book reviews in our online article databases JSTOR , and New York Times below.
Another source of older book reviews can be found on Metro Campus's Library in Book Review Digest.
For books published in 1925 to 2007, use the print Book Review Digest series located at: Z1219 .C96 Z1219 .C96 to find your book review in Book Review Digest. First, find the volume with the publication date, then search by title or author then look at the excerpts from book reviews. It will list the magazine name, issue number, date, and page number. Your campus librarian can assist you with finding the full text of the book review in TCC article databases or via interlibrary loan.
Use the Library's subscription databases listed below to search for full-text book reviews.
Our database, Gale Literature Resource Center, provides full text access to the New York Times Book Review from January 2001 through the present. You can get to this database at the link Articles & Databases on the Library's home page. Once there, follow these steps listed below:
To find a review on a specific book:
1. Select "Advanced Search"
2. Enter the title of the book you want a review for into the first search box
3. Enter New York Times Book Review in the second box, and change the search field to Publication Title
To get to a particular issue of the New York Times Book Review:
1. From the Library's home page, select the link Articles & Databases
2. Enter New York Times Book Review in the Journal Title Finder search box
3. Select the title link to access the publication record in Gale's database.
4. Select the date of the issue you need OR use the SEARCH WITHIN box to search for a specific title, series, or author
Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2022 Tulsa Community College