LibGuides: Introduction to Psychology (PSYC 1113): Articles &amp; Journals

Topics and Writing in Psychology

Psychology Topics by American Psychological Association (APA)
See a list of topics in psychology and articles by APA
Guide for Writing in Psychology (pdf)
From Southwestern University
Writing in Psychology
From University of Connecticut's Writing Center and Department of Psychology

Article Searching Strategies

Search by Keyword

Explore keyword searches with a topic word and words along with related terms such as methodology, "psychological testing", and testing
For example:

"child development" and testing
"sex role" and methodology
disabilities and "psychological testing"

Find A Specific Journal By Title

If you already know the name of a specific journal like the Journal of Abnormal Psychology, you can use the link below to locate that particular journal.

Search for a specific psychology journal title
This search tool will help you find a database that has a specific journal title in its records and tell you if full-text articles are available.

Research Videos

Original Research Article versus Review Article video

Tune into Librarian Marianne Myers as she discusses the distinction between original research versus review articles in this video with captions for accessibility!

Find Psychology Articles at the Library video

Gain insights from Librarian Adam Brennan on navigating psychology articles at the TCC Library in a brief video equipped with captions

Explore these databases with a specific subject search

Contemporary Women's Issues - Gale OneFile
A full-text database of articles from magazines, journals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press with focus on the critical issues and events in women's lives.

Gender Studies Collection - Gale
Search full-text scholarly journal and magazine articles covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

War and Terrorism - Gale OneFile
Search academic journals and magazines covering the military in historical and contemporary times with coverage of topics related to war and terrorism.

Databases with Psychology Scholarly Journals

APA PsycArticles - ProQuest
Offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

Psychology Collection - GaleOneFile
Find articles in academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Ebscohost
A full-text psychology database offering full-text articles for nearly 530 journals, covering topics in emotional & behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology.

ScienceDirect - Elsevier
Scholarly science database with psychology journals

Social Sciences - ProQuest
Find citations with brief information on articles in scholarly journals