Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
click map TCC Home TCC Library Home

Creating an Inclusive Syllabus: Resources

Resources for developing inclusive syllabi

Online Resources for Finding Inclusive Course Material

Diversity Reading List - The DRL collects high quality texts in philosophy written by authors from under-represented groups. Our aim is to make it easier for you to find such texts and use them in your teaching. Browse, search, include, and help make philosophy a discipline of equal opportunity!

OpenSyllabus - Maps college curriculums across 7,292,573 syllabi. Easy to find content by course, field, country, school, and more.

Syllabus Collection from the Consortium on Gender, Security & Human Rights - Provides easy access to a wide range of courses taught about topics related to gender, armed conflict, peacemaking and postwar reconstruction, as well as feminist perspectives on global politics.

Diversity and Inclusiveness Syllabus Collection from the American Philosophical Association - Some of these syllabi are completely devoted to an underrepresented area of philosophy, while others contain one or more units on such areas. Many are cross-listed and appear in multiple categories. Within categories, syllabi are alphabetized by course title and include author name(s) in parentheses.

People of Color Also Know Stuff - The voices of people of color are often lacking, from news stories and editorial commentary, to public lectures and expert panels. This database is a directory of experts of color on a range of topics.

Women Also Know Stuff - Search the database for relevant experts when you are writing syllabi, planning conferences, organizing panels, selecting speakers, citing research, inviting essays and op-eds, and identifying expert sources.

Gender Balance Syllabus Assessment Tool - Women are cited less often than men, and are also underrepresented in syllabi. Yet even well-meaning scholars may find that they have difficulty assessing how gender-balanced their bibliographies and syllabi really are. Counting is tedious and prone to human error, and scholars may not know the gender identities of all the authors they cite. This tool aims to help with that, by automating the process of evaluating the (probabilistic) gender of each name and then providing an estimate of what percentage of the authors on a syllabus are women.

Decolonise STEM - A collective of academic activists, seeking to critically explore coloniality, privilege, and power in and around science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), and the institutions that bolster and support the colonial matrix.

Syllabus Project (Environmental History) - A collaborative Zotero library that contains Environmental History sources by women and people of color.

Decolonising Science Reading List - Some general books about diversity of thought and history in the sciences; many of the resources focus on physics and astronomy. This site also has a U.S./Canadian Race & Racism Reading List

Decolonizing Technology: A Reading List - These readings focus on questions on how and for whom tools were made, who benefits, how people are represented, etc.

Diversity Reading List - Resources by disciplines that highlight authors from under-represented groups.

Culture in the Classroom -  Provides a classroom focused website offering magazines, webinars and classroom resources on diversity.

Latino Book Review - Includes poetry, fiction, nonfiction, children's lit, along with research, essays, and a podcast!

Insight into Diversity - INSIGHT Into Diversity is the oldest and largest diversity magazine and website in higher education today.

Best Practices for the Inclusive Philosophy Classroom - Offers methods for increasing inclusiveness in the classroom and for decreasing the effects of biases more generally. It includes the results of research about minority groups in philosophy. It also lists resources for teachers of philosophy who are committed to including in their syllabi readings about issues often overlooked in philosophy classrooms and readings written by philosophers belonging to groups that are typically under-represented in professional philosophy.

Links to Higher Ed Initiatives

Loyola University - Decolonizing Your Syllabus

University of Rhode Island - Teaching with Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion 

University of Washington - Inclusive Teaching Strategies

Brown University - Inclusive Teaching

Bryn Mawr - Creating and Rethinking Syllabi

Grinnel College - Creating an Inclusive Syllabus

Harvard University - Inclusive Course Design

Northern Illinois University - Academic Diversity, Equity and Inclusion--Faculty Toolkit

Stockton University - Decolonizing the Curriculum Resources

Tufts University - Creating an Inclusive Learning Environment

UCLA - Inclusive Syllabus Design

University of Denver: Office of Teaching and Learning - Inclusive Teaching Practices

University of Michigan - Getting Started with Inclusive Teaching

Guidance for Disciplines

American Philosophical Association - Resources on Diversity and Inclusion - Includes a link to a syllabus collection

American Psychological Association - Diversity issues in undergraduate education 

Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion - The AACSB section on diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Council on Social Work Education - Center for Diversity and Social & Economic Justice - Includes educator and curricular resources

Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion - The AACSB section on diversity, equity, and inclusion.

North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture - Search for article and presentations around diversity and inclusion in the classroom and research studies.

Association of College and University Educators - Toolkit includes ten components for inclusive teaching

Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2021 Tulsa Community College