Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
click map TCC Home TCC Library Home

Composition I (ENGL 1113-Pamela Webb): Sources 1-4

This guide will help you with the Source Assignment for Professor Webb's COMP I course.

undefined

1. An article in a scholarly journal in an online database

Use one of the TCC Library databases below or, depending on your topic, you may want to try another database from the Library website

Academic Search Premier: includes full-text articles on a wide range of topics from 4700 magazines and journals.

Academic OneFile: provides over 80 million peer-reviewed, full-text articles, covering a wide range of topics. The Topic Finder tool allows students to mine their search results and develop their research focus. 

JSTOR: full-text scholarly journal articles and images covering a wide range of topics, including humanities, sciences, social sciences, and more.

Opposing Viewpoints: Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues drawing from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. 

 

Not sure if your source is from a scholarly journal? Check Ulrichsweb! Ulrichsweb is a publications directory that can quickly help you determine if it is! Simply search for the journal title and check the "Content Type" in the Basic Description box.

2. An article in a newspaper in an online database

TCC Library also has several databases devoted to Newspapers! Try one of these: 

News – Gale OneFile: provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.

Newspaper Source Plus: Includes 1,570 full-text newspapers, providing more than 27 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 583,100 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.

Pressreader: Provides access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines as soon as they’re available on shelves from premium content without ads or paywalls or incomplete story snippets. Includes over 700 titles from the United States.

Opposing Viewpoints: Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues drawing from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. 

3. An article or essay specifically from Issues and Controversies

Issues & Controversies is a library database that focuses on current issues. It's a great way to get a comprehensive understand of your topic. Search for a keyword or phrase to view a list of research questions related to your topic. Each research question includes a report, complete with background information, a summary of both sides of the issue, a timeline, statistics, and a bibliography. 

4. An essay in print, in an ebook, or in a database from the Opposing Viewpoints, At Issue, or Controversial Issues series

Opposing Viewpoints: Use this database to access “Viewpoint" essays on your topic. "Viewpoint" essays provide arguments for and against your issue topic.

Discovery Search: Use our Discovery catalog to search for viewpoint essays in print books and ebooks (limited) from the TCC Library collection. These essays are found in anthology series on current issues. Series titles include: At Issue, Current Controversies, and Opposing Viewpoints. Most are only available in print.

Database Search Tips:

  • Use keywords in library databases instead of full sentences.
  • Combine keywords effectively with Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT).
  • To look for an exact phrase, type your phrase within quotation marks ("  "). The results will contain the exact words in the quotation marks.
  • Use an asterisk (*) at the end of a root word, known as truncation, to retrieve results containing any form of the root word.
    • Example: teen* will find teens, teenage, teenager, teenagers
  • Use filters to refine your results.

Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010

email: Library Website Technical Help | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2022 Tulsa Community College