Skip to main content
click map TCC Home TCC Library Home

First Year Experience Seminar Online Textbook

This is the main textbook for FYE Seminar to be used beginning Summer 2017

5.1.0 The language of research and the library

As you read this chapter, be on the lookout for common terms used by students and researchers in the library.  Research terms will be bolded text and will show a definition by hovering your mouse cursor over it. Mouse over the following terms for example:

Subject heading

Peer reviewed journal

5.1.1 Introducing...Your College Library!

Your TCC Library, an academic library, is a bit different from public and school libraries, but if you spend a little time exploring all it has to offer, you'll be used to it in no time!

How is an academic librarydifferent?

 

5.1.2 How can the library help you?

We hope you will consider the library a place on campus where you feel at home...where you are comfortable studying, resting, meeting classmates, researching and accessing information.  The best way to do that is to become familiar with the library and all it can add to your college experience: 

  • help finding information you need for class assignments, career planning or just because you want to know (you can even schedule an appointment with a librarian to get in-depth, individual research help 
  • reliable, accurate, well-documented information from academic journals and other sources
  • tools to get your work done, such as computers, printers, Internet access, a photocopier, etc.

Your TCC Library offers many great services designed to help you be as successful as you can be! This brief video provides an overview of the services provided at the Metro Campus Library. The TCC Libraries on the other campuses have most of these services as well, but the specifics may be a bit different.

If the video doesn’t play, you may have to update your Flash Player.  If you can’t, or are accessing on a device that doesn’t have Flash Player, click this link to view:  https://youtu.be/uQXDtMVYp1M

5.1.3 New Library Web Page!

Please watch this short video introducing the library library homepage:

If the video doesn’t play, you may have to update your Flash Player.  If you can’t, or are accessing on a device that doesn’t have Flash Player, click this link to view:  https://youtu.be/8YSO8PVk5xc

5.1.4 Need Help? Ask Us!

Library Staff will respond to your questions either by phone, text, chat or email.

Metro Campus 918-595-7172
Southeast Campus 918-595-7701
Northeast Campus 918-595-7501
West Campus 918-595-8010

5.1.5 I have the Internet at home - why do I need the library?

SEE How Can the Library Help You? ABOVE!

Also, the library has:

  • People who are there to help you with research, directions, technology, and lots of other things!
  • Computers and printers!
  • Library databases full of reliable, well-organized, well-documented information!
  • Study spaces that eliminate distractions!

 

If the video doesn’t play, you may have to update your Flash Player.  If you can’t, or are accessing on a device that doesn’t have Flash Player, click this link to view:  https://youtu.be/Q2GMtIuaNzU

5.1.6 Discovery Search at the TCC Library

What is Discovery Search?

picture of discovery search on TCC webpage

Discovery Search is a fast and convenient way to search both the library catalog and the library databases at the same time.  Discovery search lets you discover the library, and your search will display records for books, ebooks, and articles in one convenient place.

Think of discovery as a database that sits on top of the other databases.  It searches a massive collection of resources from various databases and directs you to the one that best fits your needs.

Does Discovery search only search TCC's catalog and databases?

No!  While a search for books and articles that are available through TCC will come up first, Discovery searches the world!  If TCC doesn't have access to what you need directly, you can view who does, and request it through our Interlibrary Loan program.

Can I still search individual databases from the library for information?

Yes!  You can still access individual databases from the "Articles and Databases" link on the home page of the TCC library website.  This is particularly helpful if you want to search a database containing very specific knowledge, like our health sciences and nursing databases.

 

Next, click on the tab "Discovery Search Interface" 

Parts of the discovery search interface

 

picture of discovery search results

1.  Search Box - You can do a simple keyword search here after your initial keyword search from the main library website.  Type in your new search, and press enter or the magnifying glass button to do a new seach for books, ebooks, and articles.

2. Search Filters - Search filters, also called limiters, are options that let you narrow down a list of search results from Discovery Search or a database by a specific set of criteria, like the date of publication or accessibility of full text (full text means you can read the whole article right now).

Search Filter Descriptions
Library By default world libraries are selected, so that discovery searches the world libraries.  TCC materials are still prioritized to the top of the search results list.  To search only TCC materials and nothing else, you can opt to select "Tulsa Community College Library."
Content Selecting either option will remove print books from search.  Peer Reviewed pertains to articles: selecting this will screen articles and remove popular sources and newspapers.
Format By default, all formats are selected, so that a search will bring back books, ebooks, and articles.  You can limit your search to only one or more of these formats by selecting the appropriate option here.
Databases Discovery can search articles from specific named databases, if you wish to further narrow your search.  By default, all databases are selected to give you the broadest search.
Author Allows you to see only materials by specific author.
Year You can specify a date range of publication for your search if you require newly published information in your field.  As a rule of thumb, five years is considered new for most fields, while 2 years is considered new for health sciences.
Topic This allows you to limit your search by subject area.

 

3. Search results - The results of your search display here.  Default order is ranked by relevance, with materials available through the Tulsa Community College library appearing first. Click on a title to view more information about the item.

 

A closer look at a book record

After you click on the title link of a book, your screen should look like this:

picture of a book record with labels

 

1. The title, author, format and publication date of the item you are viewing is located here.  In this example, the record selecting is representing a print book, but ebooks and articles are other formats you might see.

2. You can share or email the information on a record to yourself with the top sharing button.  You can also add the record to your list for viewing later, thus allowing you to find a multitude of items before reviewing them for your needs.  Items added to your list only stay for the current searching session; they disappear if you close your browser.

3.  Dropdown sections that provide you with additional information about the book, ebook or article.

4.  The "Availability" dropdown section is open by default. This will tell you how to access the item.  For books, the location of the item will be displayed (the campus library where the books is stored), along with the option to place a hold on the book (and have the book sent to a TCC library of your choice for pickup).  For ebooks and available articles, there will be links to access the item.

5. Your filters minimize when you click on an item to view more information.  You can return to the filter menu with the "View Filters" link, or look at additional items from your original search along the left column.

Please watch this short video on the basics of discovery search.  This video will demonstrate the concepts and parts of discovery that have been covered in the previous tabs.

If the video doesn’t play, you may have to update your Flash Player.  If you can’t, or are accessing on a device that doesn’t have Flash Player, click this link to view:  https://youtu.be/TmCCuJrdJXU

Loading

5.1.7 Exercise: Active Learning Using the Library Website

Please follow the link below to view and print the document containing the exercise. You will need Adobe Reader or Microsoft Office to view the document. Adobe Reader can be downloaded at: https://get.adobe.com/reader/ . You can download Microsoft Office through Blackboard: follow instructions on the “Student Resources” tab.
Read all instructions for the exercise thoroughly.

Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Webmaster | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2016 Tulsa Community College