Skip to main content
Online Reference Resources
Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History & Culture
"The Oklahoma Historical Society developed the Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History & Culture to inform and educate citizens, students, historians, and the world at large about the fascinating history of this most unusual state."
"Oklahoma Almanac is a major reference source on the State of Oklahoma, including state government information, election results, county statistics, education and commerce information, and a wildlife and nature section."
Digital Primary Sources
Chronicles of Oklahoma
The first 40 volumes of the Oklahoma Historical Society's journal, digitized by Oklahoma State University.
Gateway to Oklahoma History
This research portal of the Oklahoma Historical Society offers access to Oklahoma newspapers dating from the 1840s-1920s, early Oklahoma photographs, and Oklahoma video footage.
Oklahoma Digital Praire
"Oklahoma Digital Prairie provides visitors unique digital content spanning more than 100 years of rich, vibrant history from the 46th State. The resource areas found here include documents, photographs, newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters, maps and audio/visual content. Content ranges from the late 1800s to the present day."
"Oklahoma Today provides its readers the best of Oklahoma's people, places, travel, culture, food, and outdoors in an attractive and engaging publication that enhances the Oklahoma Experience."
Western History Collection
"The Western History Collections is a special collection within the University of Oklahoma Libraries system. Its purpose is to provide opportunities for research through the acquisition, preservation, and access of materials relating to the development of the Trans-Mississippi West and Native American cultures."
Oklahoma Digital Maps Collection
"Oklahoma State University Library's digtial maps collection contains over 7,900 digitized maps from the period of 1803-1925."
Museums and Historical Societies
Oklahoma Historical Society
"The Oklahoma Historical Society was founded in 1893 by members of the Oklahoma Territory Press Association. Over the years OHS has developed numerous collections and programs and now has 35 museums and historic sites statewide."
Sam Nobel Museum
"Over 4 billion years of Oklahoma’s natural history can be seen in a 198,000 square foot facility. Five galleries feature thousands of artifacts in 50,000 square feet of exhibit space."
Philbrook Museum of Art
"Serving an average of 150,000 visitors annually, [the] Philbrook has become a poignant testimony to Tulsa's past while building a shining example of this city's bright future. "
Thomas Gilcrease Museum
"Gilcrease Museum houses the world's largest, most comprehensive collection of art and artifacts of the American West. The museum also offers an unparalleled collection of Native American art and artifacts, as well as historical manuscripts, documents and maps."
Tulsa Air and Space Museum and Planetarium
"Tulsa Air and Space Museum and Planetarium preserves Oklahoma's aerospace heritage and inspires science-based learning through discovery."
CORONET Presents: OKLAHOMA! June, 1943.
Image source: Virga, Vincent, and Curators of the Library of Congress, with commentary by Alan Brinkley (2004). Eyes of the Nation: A Visual History of the United States. Charlestown, MA: Bunker Hill Publishing. ARTstor (Music Division_6T83R02).
Metro Campus Library: 918.595.7172 | Northeast Campus Library: 918.595.7501 | Southeast Campus Library: 918.595.7701 | West Campus Library: 918.595.8010
email: Library Webmaster | TCC Acceptable Use Policy | MyTCC | © 2018 Tulsa Community College